Gaston

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2021 - 15/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Helloooo! I love to laugh, play, move my body, hug and have deep conversations. Buuuuut maybe that's not specific enough and everyone loves that!?!

    So what motivates me and brings me happiness?

    I'm a French/Dutch man who grew up in Switzerland and at the moment I study political science in Amsterdam. I am mostly interested in the environment and transitioning towards an alternative way of life both for myself, those around me and wider society. Currently I am learning about Degrowth, Transition theories, Urban agriculture and Food systems. But it is all theoretical and I feel a deeper desire to connect with these teachings in practice! This is one of the reasons I would like to be a workawayer!

    Outside university I like to do sports and play music. I recently started playing bass guitar and it has brought me lots of joy and tought me to be more creative. I grew up with a very competitive mindset and sports used to be the only thing that mattered in my head but discovering other interests like music is opening up lots of new horizons.

    I am very interested in what I eat and connecting more fully with my food. I am vegetarian/flexi vegan at the moment for environmental reasons and wellbeing of all living species.

    One more thing haha! I am part of a meditation community called Student Meditation ('Studentmeditation.nl' on google) and it is probably what brings me the most fulfillment in my life at the moment. I have my own daily practice; and with the community and my friends, we support each other in our practices and try and spread as much kindness as possible to those around us!

    That's all! I can always say more but that might be easier on the phone!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am skilled in languages. I am fluent in French (mother tongue), Dutch and English. I am a good German speaker but I have not practiced in a while.

    I am in good physical shape, tall and strong (not a gym machine or anything but I can lift heavy stuff) BUT I have absolutely no expertise in manual labour. I would love to learn anything you are willing to teach me.

    I have been practicing meditation for 1,5 years and have learned to guide meditations as well. I am no Guru, nor am I a licensed meditation teacher, but I would be happy to share my own experience with meditation and learn from you as well.

    I have a bachelor of political science. That may not be transferable to skills at workaway but if you are looking for deep discussions of politics and aquiring some perspective I can probably provide some of that.

    I have trained kids to play field hockey for 2-3 seasons. It was mostly about entertaining kids from 5 to 13 and enabling them to have fun! As a skill it is mostly being adaptable and creative.

    I did a board year in a student association that ran a student gas station (not very environmentally friendly i know...) where I was head of facilities so i have some experience with managing a small team and working in a business. Most of my tasks there were supervision and underseeing the proper running of facilities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach French, Dutch or English. I would love to learn Spanish, Italian or Portugese. Refining my German would also be great!

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I think I ve said it all! I love to interact, eat and share together as well as enjoying silence in nature!

    Oh I like dancing! But no special skills haha

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am a vegetarian. I m very happy with a Vegan lifestyle but it is not a necessity at the moment for me.

Feedback