Gavin & Wendy

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    United Kingdom - from Mar 2022 until Dec 2022
    View all
  • Description

    UPDATED: We have just rejoined workaway after living in Spain from February 2020 until October 2021. We love gardening and DIY but are happy to have a go at new things and will be available from the end February 2022 to work in the UK.
    References available if required.

    We are an early retired English couple who are seeking new challenges and adventures in life now that our two sons have left home. We are both in our early 50’s, have been married for 28 years and are fit and healthy. We enjoy travelling and having recently returned from a 3 month trip across Japan, Australia and New Zealand, so are keen to get out and explore what the world has to offer and meet new people through workaways. We believe that we have lots of skills that can be utilised through working with you or house-sitting.
    We were in France and Spain from July to December 2019 helping with tree felling and garden clearance, formal gardening, wallpapering, painting, gite changeovers and many general DIY jobs.
    We met so many wonderful people and had such good fun we are hoping to carry on again in 2022.
    We are not fussy eaters and have our own transport.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Cooking & food
    History
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I worked in London for many years as an IT project manager within the financial sector and then later within local government and finally within the national health service- before giving up work in 2018. My wife worked at a UK bank for many years before also joining the health service where she worked as a data analyst and multi-disciplinary meeting co-ordinator for cancer patient care.
    During the past 27 years and whilst working at our day jobs we undertook a number of property renovations- initially for ourselves but then for others, friends, family etc. Combining my project management skills with our practical capabilities we took on more aspects of the work ourselves, becoming more self-sufficient and proficient at the following: fitting kitchens & bathrooms, laying floor and wall tiles, carpentry- hanging doors, fitting wardrobes, basic electrical, lighting etc. all aspects of re-decoration: coving, cornices, paper hanging and painting (both inside and outside). We have meticulous attention to detail and strive to achieve the best results every time.
    From an early age both of us have always loved gardening and for 15 years I have been providing gardening services to a number of people who are unable to tend them themselves. This includes: general garden maintenance, lawns, edges, beds and borders, planting, trimming, felling trees, clearances, laying patios, erecting fences, sheds, roofing.
    I also have a keen interest in classic cars, so am reasonably mechanically minded, so again this may be of use. My wife is a great cat lover so would be more than happy to mind them or help with general care/grooming.
    All in all we believe we have a lot of skills to offer anyone genuinely looking for support/help.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    55 & 57

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Our hobbies include: gardening, walking, mountain biking, Gavin also plays guitar- so maybe useful for someone who wants to learn. He also has a passion for tinkering with classic cars, so would love to be able to combine some of these into my work.
    We are friendly, reliable, hardworking and very conscientious - we can turn our hands to most things but are always willing to give new things a try.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback