Friederike

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2019 - 18/05/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm Friederike from Germany. I used to work as a foreign language secretary
    but last summer I decided to do workaway for a while to gain new experiences and ideas. I'd like to get to know other people's way of life and draw inspiration from it.
    I would describe myself as an open-minded, calm and caring person. I value nature. I took part in a Gospel choir in my freetime and I love dancing Lindy Hop. Apart from that I enjoy listening to music, baking, movies, taking photos, reading and going for walks.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I'm doing workaway since the beginning of October 2019 in France. I helped with:
    - Gardening (planting, weeding)
    - General house chores
    - Cleaning
    - Renovation works (painting)
    - Animal care/ farm stays including staying on a dairy farm in Brittany and a vineyard in the Jurancon region. Work that I was doing there: feeding the animals, helping in the cheesery, fruit picking, preparing firewood, helping out at the markets/ AMAPs (packing, dealing with customers), work on the vineyard (planting new vine stocks, stapling and attaching wires, removing shoots, putting vine tendrils into the wires), tidying, painting work, cooking
    - Assisting in the English classes at "Cfa Les 13 Vents" in Tulle/France
    - Assisting a pastry cook at "Cfa Les 13 Vents" in Tulle/France who prepared for a competition
    Apart from workaway:
    - Farm work:
    I did an internship on a farm in Germany. They ran fruit-growing (mainly fruit trees) as well as cattle breeding (zebus). I helped with clearing out the stables, fruit picking, cutting hedges, sweeping leaves
    - Child care:
    I was an au pair in England a few years ago and took care of two children aged 8 and 12.
    - Office work:
    I've been to Ireland for half a year working for a tour operator being part of the inventory team. Through my job as a secretary I'm used to be in contact with clients and I'm computer literate.
    - Hotel/ B&B/ Tourism:
    I've done a two weeks internship in a hotel in Germany which involved taking care of the guest rooms, cleaning and tidying up.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    I indeed have a driver's licence but as I haven't driven a car for more than three years, I'm not really confident in driving right now.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't tolerate lactose i.e. I'm intolerant but not allergic to milk :)

Photos

Feedback