Andy & Frances

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Portugal, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    28/10/2019 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi We're Andy and Fran - semi-retired,late 50's keen to explore the world. We're reliable, fit and healthy with a lot of experience and a great work ethic. Beach holidays and cruises aren't for us ... we'd much rather get stuck into a project while we're away. We're 'Nomads' with an independent income so committing to longer term projects won't be problem.
    We've renovated houses, looked after an allotment for 12 years, worked at all sorts of festivals and so have gained some valuable skills that we're keen to share.
    We love cycling, music, hiking, skiing, tennis and discovering new places and meeting new people.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    We've been quite busy over the years ...

    Building (DIY - not professionally!):
    Bricklaying/Repointing/Wall repairs/Plastering/Dry lining/Rendering/Kitchen fitting

    Maintenance:
    Painting/Wallpapering/Simple plumbing/Simple electrical

    Gardening:
    Pruning/Grafting/Planting/Seeding/Composting/Weeding/Bramble clearance/Harvesting/Chainsawing/Log Splitting/Building decking/Patio laying/Polytunnel/Greenhouse construction/Terracing/Step construction/Patio laying

    Permaculture:
    Round House construction/Clay Oven construction/Furniture building/Compost toilet construction/Water filtration system/Yurt frame construction/Permaculture garden at Glastonbury Festival

    Cooking:
    English/Chinese/Indian/Mexican/Spanish/Cakes & Desserts/Preserves & pickles/Vegetarian/Cider/beer making

    Customer Facing:
    Catering Van @ markets & parks/Major Festivals - serving teas, cakes etc/Glastonbury Festival - selling T-shirts, band merchandise/MacMillan Cancer Support volunteering/Ski Chalet hosting (2019/20)

    Computing:
    MS Office skills/Web development - HTML/Php/MySQL

    Planning:
    Budgeting/Forecasting/Business planning/Project planning/Travel planning

    House Sitting in the UK and Spain (Cats and dogs)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    58 & 57

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Helped construct the barn at The Permaculture Garden (Glastonbury Festival)
Built this decking
Repaired top half of this wall
Our allotment
Made this Yurt frame
She's a beauty!
Sometimes get artistic (mosaic)
Helping with a Permaculture roundhouse construction
Built this wall a few years ago
Laid these slabs a few years ago
Built these raised beds (and did some fancy mosaic work!)

Feedback