Francesca

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/08/2019 - 31/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Francesca, a 23 y.o. from Italy.
    I'll tell you something about myself.
    I used to be a medical student, eager to become a surgeon with little else in mind. During my fourth year of University I began to question the career path I had chosen: even though it's a noble profession it didn't seem to resonate well with me. I was lost.
    With that frame of mind, I packed my things and walked the Camino de Santiago. Needless to say, it has been a life changing experience. After having my nose buried in books for years, I noticed the Nature around me. I met amazing human beings and realized how little we need to be happy.
    I felt I had to do something that allowed me to hang on to this feeling for the rest of my life and I found out that agriculture was it.
    In the last 2 years I've got really interested in the climate emergency, in the impact our species has had on our amazing Planet. I've enrolled once again in University, this time fully convinced, at a course called "Management of Cultivated Plants and Landscaping". My goal is to learn more about the way in which we can feed the people while harming the planet as little as possible.
    Fiuh, I got that out of the way! Now some more practical infos.
    My biggest quality is that I'm a smart cookie. I'm curios, eager and a fast learner (very humble too!). I have some experience with hard physical work: I've worked at a dog shelter, a lama farm and every year I head to Basilicata to help with olive picking. Generally, if my body can handle it, I'm not picky.
    Due to my studies I'm looking for a farm-stay that is manly focused on agriculture, but I can also help with cooking, language exchenge or looking after children.
    Unfortunately I'm celiac, which means I cannot eat gluten due to a medical condition. BUT it's very much my intention not to be a nuisance, so I can handle my food without problems.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Culture
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I'd like to help you with your plants and vegetable garden.
    I can also cook and help you practice your Italian (o l'inglese per gli italiani, ho un C1).
    As for the rest...I make up for the lack of skills with willingness to learn! :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I'm looking for a long stay: one or two months in july/august

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cat fur when cats live in house

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm celiac, which means I can't eat gluten due to a medical condition. I'm very flexible though, I eat plenty of vegetables. I'm also a good cook and do my best to avoid being a nuisance (I know that gluten-free cooking can be complicated).

Photos

Feedback