Ashley

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 24/06/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I am on a journey of reconnecting with my body and soul. I love deep conversations and dancing to live music. I am a teacher by profession but I am really interested in learning more about permaculture, regenerative farming, ayurveda, yoga, sewing, mechanics and just living more in balance with myself and the Earth. I enjoy contributing to the vibrancy of my community and learning/experiencing as much as possible. I have worked on an organic farm, been an outreach worker with people with addictions or previously in prison, ran a summer camp for kids with disabilities, and taught an after school program for immigrant youth. Hiking through a forest in the mountains is my happy place. I am excited to connect with like-spirited people and see a new part of the world!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have dabbled in many areas. Last summer I worked at an organic farm in Canada where I picked and washed veggies then helped sell them on market days. I have lots of experience working with children in various capacities but prefer outdoor time with them. I am fairly handy and have experience with small power tools building decks, reshingling roofs, doing minor home and campervan repairs. I have residential painting and landscaping experience. I have done lots of advocacy work and written many grant proposals and reports for a not-for-profit agency in Alberta, Canada. I have amateur sewing skills and have made costumes for music festivals and theatre performances. I want to improve my cooking and permaculture skills as well as gain mechanical and ecobuilding knowledge.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in English and French.

  • Age

    34

  • What else ...

    I love Dixit, Blokus and strategy board games and card games. Very keen to explore all the nature around my workaway, especially mountains and overnight hikes. I love to talk about philosophy and want to be in an environment where I am encouraged to meditate and practice yoga more often.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      For health reasons currently no gluten, dairy or processed sugar. Mostly plant based diet but I do eat eggs often and organic meat rarely. I am happy to cook for myself so long as I have access to fruits, veggies and nuts.

Photos

Squamish, BC.
Jersey & I in beautiful BC, Canada.

Feedback