James & Flora

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2018 - 31/10/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    559

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! We are Flora and James and we're looking for our next adventure. We are currently in New Zealand on a one year working holiday visa. We have been exploring the North Island since November 2018, which has included working at a holiday park, weeding at a strawberry nursery and volunteering in Hawera.

    For the last couple of summers we have worked for a UK camping holidays operator in Italy as campsite reps, which involved cleaning, maintenance, admin and customer service.

    We've been together for 5 years and we love travelling and exploring, hanging out with friends, watching live music, and pursuing outdoors activities such as cycling, swimming and hiking. We're always open to trying new things and we're looking forward to discovering what New Zealand offers :)

    We both have a really strong work ethic and take pride in our jobs. We hope we have some skills which would be helpful to hosts, and in return we are eager to learn new skills and get stuck in to whatever tasks are sent our way!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    James has a TEFL qualification. He also has a strong background in cash handling, retail and customer service, particularly within the DIY sector. This means he's a pretty handy guy and can have a go at fixing up most things. In the past he's made his own workout bench from old pallets, plus a wooden box on wheels for his drum kit. He's super smart at numbers, musical, creative and good with computers too. He's pretty good when it comes to organisation and crowd control, having previously worked for an English language school in our hometown of Bournemouth, UK.

    Flora has a French degree and is good with languages. She has worked in local government, for a magazine publishers, and in various hospitality and customer-facing roles (bar staff, cleaning, admin, shop assistant, holiday rep). She is computer literate and has strong domestic skills - cooking, sewing and mending, ironing, decorating, cleaning.

  • Languages spoken

    We are native English speakers. We have worked seasons in Italy, so we speak some Italian. Flora speaks French. James is currently learning German.

  • Age

    28 & 32

  • What else ...

    We are non-religious, apolitical and open-minded. We both have piercings, James has tattoos.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback