Karen

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/09/2020 - 30/11/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a responsible, caring, fit, middle-aged woman who loves people, animals, and exploring new places. By profession, I do community development and education work in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada. In my spare time I'm very involved with urban agriculture- community gardens, supporting local farmers, backyard chickens, saving seeds & public education. If you have a garden or houseplants, they will be as well cared for as your darling children and/or pets. I have experience caring for cats, dogs, chickens, ducks, lambs, turtles, fish, parrots and a donkey too.
    I have a (brilliant, kind and beautiful) 19 year old daughter. I love interacting, playing, teaching and learning with kids and teens.
    My husband and I renovated and rebuilt our old home. I have a lot of experience helping with construction projects and painting. I'm a keen worker!
    I am not interested in cruising into a place, checking off the tourist spots and heading to the next country. I'd much prefer to meet local people, eat local food and learn about your customs. Caring for your children, pets or farm animals and/or garden and home, will offer me a chance to pause and experience life in another community.
    I lived in France for a year a long time ago, and I'd love to improve my French language skills. I am also a trained English teacher.
    I'll respectfully treat your home and loved ones as I do my own. I hope to meet you some day!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    gardening, cleaning, cooking, childcare, teaching English, construction clean up/assistance, painting, community work, pet care- dogs, cats, farm work- experience caring for chickens, ducks, cows, pigs, yaks, sheep, goats, teaching- in prisons, elementary, high school and university. I'm a keen and hard worker, who likes to learn new things and meet people.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    53

  • What else ...

    Thank you/Merci/Danke for considering me. I'd be happy to meet you, and I will try to help in any way you need!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      prefer vegetarian, but I'll eat whatever is cooked.

Photos

Feedback