Fardau

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/07/2021 - 07/08/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    376

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home


    Hello there! Currently I am studying in Groningen, a city in the Netherlands. I'm in the second year of Medicine. I like to make walks, cook and I enjoy doing creative things!

  • Description

    Hellooohelloooo!

    Welcome to my profile :) My name is Fardau. I'm an open-minded, enthusiastic, Frisian girl from the Netherlands. At the moment I am studying Medicine in Groningen. I'm longing to learn from the world and can't wait until the summer to (hopefully) be able to travel again! I'm not sure yet where I want to go (somewhere in Europe), for me it is the most important that I connect well with my hosts and find a project that feels right :) I am excited to meet new people and learn from their stories and create new memories!


    A little bit more about me:

    - Most of my childhood I've spent living on a small farm. At the moment we have a small group of sheep, two horses, two goats, two rabbits and two cats. Since I'm living in Groningen now I'm not here so often anymore, however it is very nice to come back.

    - After getting my high school degree, I went backpacking in New Zealand. This was an amazing trip for which I am very thankful. I loved the scenery, sometimes I just couldn't wrap my head around how beautiful it was, as if it wasn't real and I was looking at a "greenscreen". I hitchhiked around the country and enjoyed meeting other travellers and locals. From New Zealand I took a flight to South-Africa where I did a month of volunteering with children in a township near Cape Town.

    - I love to dance, sing, play the piano, baking pancakes, make walks and explore. In life, family and friends are very important to me. At the moment, I try to be more conscious about the environment, which is why I eat (mostly) vegan and try to buy second-hand clothing only. I'm also interested in lifestyle. Later in life I would like to be a general practitioner witch a large focus on "lifestyle medicine". I'm very interested in learning more about that!


    Maybe I'll see you soon! :D

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    - HOSPITALITY - I have worked several summers as a waitress in restaurants close to my hometown. In New Zealand I also worked as a waitress.

    - CHILDREN - I have babysitted multiple times. I also did some volunteering in Cape Town where I mostly played with the kids. Last summer I worked as a leader on youth holidays, for kids between 7-12 and 12-15 years old. Here I was responsible for taking care of the kids, organizing games, cooking meals and keeping the campsite tidy.

    - ELDERLY CARE - I worked as a care assistant in an elderly home. I helped with some basic things like getting dressed, going to the toilet and eating. I also did one year of nursing school.

    - HELPING AROUND THE HOUSE - In New Zealand I worked as a cleaner in a hostel in Napier. Also in my studenthouse I clean regularly. Since I lived on a farm for most of my life, I'm also used to doing chores around the house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach you some Dutch or Frisian (a local language here in NL) if you would like! :D

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm a vegetarian who mostly eats vegan :)

Photos

Feedback