Farah

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Malaysia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/05/2017 - 23/08/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    172

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! I have been travelling Southeast Asia for 3 months and will be in Indonesia for 2 months. I volunteered while in Thailand and it was such an incredible and rewarding experience that I have decided to join workaway for more opportunities. I am interested in getting to know the local culture and learning what I can about traditions and of course local food!

    I have an easy-going and down-to-earth personality. I am a quick learner and love to try new things - and this is pretty obvious when you look at my work history; I've tried it all! From working in a daycare with small children to housekeeping to being an assistant curator at an art gallery. At my last job, I was a residential care worker for youth with disabilities. I also have experience teaching, tutoring and working with children of all ages.

    I love to spend my spare time either doing something in nature or artistic. You can find me hiking, snowboarding or rock climbing depending on the season! I also travel around with my art book for sketching, hemp cords to make bracelets or hair wraps, and hula hoops to play with.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have plenty of experience working with children as well as experience in the hospitality industry. I'm great at creative writing and have excellent communication skills. I'm creative and artistic. I have an undergraduate degree in psychology and biology, with a strong focus in ecology and environmental courses, I would love to apply that knowledge with hands-on experience.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Arabic, Some French

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Photos

Teaching english to Thai children.
Cooking lunch for 20 hungry people
Acro-yoga at the top of the Hoodoos

Feedback