Famke

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Germany, Greece, Ireland, Portugal, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 20/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I grew up on a cottage which was nestled very close to a farm in Johannesburg, South Africa - there was a stable yard filled with horses, and plenty of ducks, chickens, cows. This is where I spent most of my time up until I left South Africa when I turned 18 years old. I have been living and studying in the Netherlands ever since.
    I enjoyed very much training the horses, but also taking part in the humble duties such as feeding them and grooming them. This is something I have come to miss very much, not just the contact with animals but also the way of life on the farm. I became very fond of being in that environment and participating in a host of activities - I used to help clean around the fields, lend a helping hand to riding instructors or anyone around really, and just be a source of energy and positivity for anybody / anything on the farm.
    This is why I think being a work-awayer would be an absolute delight. I am very intrinsically motivated and interested in being back in nature, being in contact with good people, and generally being a good, helpful person myself.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    As mentioned before I am very accustomed to horses - I have no problem helping with tacking up, grooming, setting up a jumping course, feeding, bathing and dressing wounds. It is an absolute pleasure to me. I am most experienced in dressage and flatwork, however enjoy jumping and have jumped up to a meter previously. Regarding groundwork, I can lunge with confidence.
    I am otherwise very helpful and I think I follow instructions well - I will not have an issue with any physical labour such as in the garden or around the house. I like to stay active and busy, and I look forward to learning some things about plants and subsistence.
    I have many hours of childcare experience as I used to work at a kindergarten, and also I was a full-time caretaker for a family in the Netherlands for several months. The age range I have spent the most time with is from 2yrs-14yrs.
    Finally, I think I am a critical thinker and have no problem with punctuality and helping organize things.

  • Languages spoken

    English and Dutch.

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    Finally, I follow a double degree program where I study Arts and Culture, and also fashion design. I enjoy the arts, and being creative comes naturally to me. I love to be open, and make jokes, comedy is my favorite thing.
    If you would like any references please feel free to ask me.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I am asthmatic.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No.

Photos

Feedback