Rachel & Fain

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/10/2021 - 30/04/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    306

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    At home

  • Description

    Buongiorno! We are Rachel and Fain. We are Americans, and Fain has his Italian citizenship by blood. We have been married for almost 5 years and I have applied for Italian citizenship by marriage. Fain's mother just retired to Abruzzo and we have agreed to transport her cat to Italy this year. We live in Wyoming and so we're excited to escape the intense winter, explore Italy, and practice our Italian. We plan to stay in Italy until March or April.

    I work remotely and Fain is doing his master’s remotely at Lund University Sweden. We are able to help with projects when the need arises, and we have plenty of experience doing hard labor for work away, but now that we are more advanced in our careers we are looking for something a little different. We are looking for something more like housesitting than full-fledged work away.

    We are very independent and are looking for an opportunity to take care of plants, animals, and properties. We have had tons of experience with house sitting and can provide exemplary references from housesitting and property management from our travels in Canada, New Zealand, and the United States. We are open to stays between 1 week to 3 months. If the arrangement worked for everyone we would be open to coming back for subsequent years.

    If it sounds like we could be a good fit, let us know! We'd love to chat and see if we could work something out.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Gardening: We both have extensive gardening experience. This year we grew a very productive garden with many plants from seed including lettuce, kale, cabbage, chard, beets, carrots, zucchini, and kohlrabi. Fain has worked in plant nurseries, done organic gardening, root cuttings, and worked with hydroponic growing systems. He also has experience with ponds and aquatic plants. Rachel has worked at several different organic farms and sold produce at farmers market. Prepping, weeding, watering, seeding, thinning, and fertilizing are pretty standard.

    Animal Care: We both have experience caring for chickens, rabbits, horses, dogs, cats. We have both milked, fed, and let goats out to pasture regularly as well as cleaned the barns. Fain has designed and built chicken coups and rabbit hutches. Rachel has over 10 years of experience with horses and is a classically trained dressage rider, with extensive equine first aid experience. Rachel has also shadowed a veterinarian who specialized in acupuncture for animals, so she has experience with compassionate care for animals.

    Building: Fain has done a fair amount of carpentry work both with construction on houses (hanging drywall, installing flooring, some framing) and demolition. He has his own tools to bring to jobs. Fain has done the interior work on a prefab house, built a porch, built a hay barn, put up a fence encompassing ~2 acres, and built new goat pens. We both did a significant amount of work on the 16x16 cabin we lived in including installing new light fixtures, installing a gas stove with fan hood, building a small kitchen island with a granite countertop and built-in shelving, building an end table out of extra granite, and installing bathroom shelves. We have both chopped and stacked wood and driven tractors and trucks. Rachel used to do trail maintenance and she can fell a tree, muckle a rock, and use an ax.

    Cooking: We love to cook! The kitchen is one of our favorite spaces. Rachel has worked as a professional cook. She is spontaneous and likes preparing meals on the fly using fresh ingredients. She loves cooking many things at once and chopping furiously while listening to Irish music. Fain is more systematic in the kitchen. His attention to detail makes him a great baker and recipe follower. He also loves doing projects like making sourdough, yogurt, kefir, cheese, hard cider, and other cultured foods. We also make our own dehydrated backpacking and snack food. We can cook for you. We don't need you to cook for us.

    Misc: Rachel is a certified hatha yoga teacher and acroyogi. Rachel has data management skills using R, beginning proficiency with Python, and some WordPress experience. Fain is a fermentation and brewing enthusiast. He also loves long backpacking trips, mountaineering and rock climbing. We are both PADI Dive Masters with significant experience diving in strong currents.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Italian: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We are interested in practicing our Italian and are happy to practice English with those who want to learn.

  • Age

    28 & 32

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    We can provide references from a small hobby farm in British Columbia Canada, a sheep farm in New Zealand, a housesit with horses in Wyoming. We are clean, respectful, and excellent communicators!

    WE ARE BOTH FULLY VACCINATED and have full rights to stay in Italy. Fain has an Italian passport and Rachel can apply for a permesso di soggiorno.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Rachel is allergic to walnuts, pecans, and pine nuts.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but we often enjoy cooking for ourselves and others.

Photos

Feedback