Alexandra

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Czech Republic, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2017 - 12/01/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    I started working holidays in 2010 and I'm still going :) I'm like a little nomad, constantly discovering new places and learning skills at the same time. When I found out about Workaway a few years ago, I thought this is the way I wanna see the countries instead of booking hostels and look around towns. I mean there's nothing wrong with it but after some years I thought I needed a different point of view/experience.
    I can get really passionate about the work I do. I like to do and try things I never thought of I would and could do. Learn and gain new skills everywhere I go. I'm an animal lover(was a proud owner of 4cats and wanna own a dog myself in a few years). During my travels its not possible for me to have animals myself, that's why I love to have them around in Workaway places.
    During my working holidays in New Zealand and Austr. I have been mainly working in farms as fruit picker, can do everything that's involved in household duties (my mom did teach me well enough how to ;) ) and Ive been working in a very busy hostel in London city as a cleaner and night receptionist for 1.5years. Cafe assistant is as well one of the jobs I had.
    Whatever tasks my next host has to offer, I'm very adaptable to it :)
    I made friends from all over the world and I love to talk to people and listen to their stories.
    Volunteering at a festival in New Zealand 2016 by selling food out of a food truck was an absolutely new experience for me and I loved it! In the UK I helped out at cafe chameleon with their mobile kitchen at the "hangout" festival in 2017. I loved the festival with Cafe chameleon so much that I came back in august 2018 to help out for one month at different festivals all over England and Wales.
    I'm a hobby photographer (what traveler isn't :) ) and I'm happy if someone has ideas and knowledge I can share and learn.
    In June 2018 I spent 2 weeks in a small private animal sanctuary in Spain. I continued with a month stay in a cat sanctuary. Omg i was in heaven there!! :D I loved being around them after such a long time in the city.
    The most intense experience with dogs and cats I had in the boarding home near Rome. I planned on staying 3 weeks but ended up staying around 7 months. This is where I actually learned about dogs behavior among lots of other things and I overcame all my fears and concerns I had. All the animals fell in love with me and the other way around :D
    I came to Italy in the first place to learn the language and combine it with working with animals. I didn't manage the language but I gained a lot experience around the furry friends.
    Whenever I get the chance I will help in Workaway places with animals.

    If a Vet, boarding home or shelter reads this, don't hesitate to get in touch. I'm happy to hear from you :)

    I love Life simple and would like to live in my own little movable tiny house and set up my own little sanctuary when the time is right.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    cafe assistant, reception tasks, housekeeping, animal care, fruit picking, work in festival café

  • Languages spoken

    english,german (prefer english)

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    German, wannabe kiwi ;)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      normal milk and jogurt doesnt do me good.. as well as beans, cabbages, and raw tomatoes.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian- so eggy and cheesy things ok

Photos

Feedback