Emily

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/02/2020 - 31/08/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hiya, Emily here! I'm a 23y/o solo workaway newbie from a little village in the English countryside. The sheep are happy & the grass is green; but sometimes you've got to wake up and smell the cow poo - life's no rehearsal, it's time to be free!

    I graduated in bioveterinary science from RVC back in 2017, worked my arse off & did good. Don't get me wrong, I loved the hands-on course, but I loved London more. I miss the adventure, the secret concerts, the pond swimming, the people & cultures. Until recently, I worked in a fast-paced veterinary laboratory, helping pathologists diagnose sick pets from all over the world. I grew a strong stomach, but it burnt me out, so I stepped into the unknown & left. I bought an inflatable kayak & decided to work on me; getting fit, working with my sowing machine, getting my rusty classical guitar fingers back into practice.

    That's where workaway comes in. It's time to find a new passion. But where do you start? I've always been an independent person, but Europe seems like a good place to start; with the dream of Australia in the winter months. As for hosts & work, I'm easy going. I have always looked at things from outside the box, and know that to find what you want to do, you have to do what you don't. Having volunteered in a retirement home & helped the marine conservation society, anything with a positive social or environmental impact is a bonus.

    Personally, I enjoy problem solving & have a very strong attention to detail, but also love to let my creativity flow. If you need a grafter, who's not afraid to get their hands dirty, meet some new people & keep learning, give me a shout! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Skills include:

    • Customer service - from previous roles in retail & hospitality
    • Household tasks - cooking, baking, cleaning, washing & organisation
    • Home improvement - painting & decorating, gardening
    • Arts & crafts - painting, sewing & clothes alteration
    • Basic IT & Office
    • Proofreading & English Language development
    • Animal care

  • Languages spoken

    Native English (and a little high school french)

  • Age

    23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback