Eva & Niki

From: Slovenia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/11/2020 - 20/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are two girls from Slovenia who just finished with their medical studies and before starting work in February 2021 we would like to discover new amazing places this planet offers and above all meet new people that will turn into our temporary family and permanent friends.

    We started this year with a trip to South America that was supposed to last at least 8 months, but due to Covid-19 pandemic we were forced to return to Europe and were not able to get a Workaway experience. We spent the summer working student jobs in a remote village in Slovenia, all the while craving just a little bit more travelling. Even though the situation with coronavirus still hasn't improved much, we would really like to spend the 2 months we have left exploring new places and most importantly - helping out. Above all, this situation has taught us that together we can achieve incredible things and we think Workaway is the perfect platform to put this into practice.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Being from a small country and even smaller towns makes us very flexible and able to adapt to various situations quickly.
    Also, the fact that only two million people speak our language is a perfect starting ground to learn foreign languages - Niki is fluent in English, Spanish and Portuguese and can communicate in Croatian, while Eva is fluent in English and German, speaks medium level Spanish and can communicate in Czech.

    We are both medical students and are accordingly hardworking, disciplined and do not quit easily. We are used to working with people, also partly due to the fact we both worked in hotels before. We tried ourselves at everything from cleaning to management and it's safe to say we both like working in tourism. Niki also spent several summers working in surf camps while Eva volunteered in camps for children of all ages.

    We have to admit that our studies made us forget our artistic and creative sides a little bit, so we’re currently on a mission of awakening the "hidden Picasso" in ourselves. However, our creativity was always expressed through cooking, which we both love. Also, we’d like to improve our handicraft skills and we are up for any challenge.

    When it comes to our characters we are quite alike (that's probably why we get along so well): openminded, communicative, self-initiative and able to think clearly and adapt in stressful situations. Sometimes, we get our best work done in confused or relaxed situations but we still do love order and keeping things tidy.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Slovenian: Fluent

  • Age

    26 & 27

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback