Esther

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/08/2019 - 11/10/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Esther, and I'm from Amsterdam. I work in communications as an editor/text writer and as a graphic artist/illustrator. I volunteer at a cityfarm/petting zoo, where we teach children about farm animals, and nature in the city. I love doing this, and I would like to learn more about 'real farming' and especially about permaculture. I have always been interested in permaculture, I have wwoofed a couple of years ago and I thought I'd give Workaway a try this time.
    When I was little me and my mum lived on the greek island Zakynthos for a few years, and I miss that lifestyle: making your own bread, picking figs and olives, being close to animals and nature, living a more 'authentic' life. I feel like I miss my roots.
    My dream is to one day have my own project where I can invite workawayers, but first I want to learn more by helping others and experiencing different ways of life. I've traveled a lot around the world, but at the moment I don't have the time and the means to travel for a longer period of time, so I thought I'd start with a few weeks here and there, to see what it's like and to get to know new people, make friends and just have fun!
    I'm not a party person and I prefer having a nice dinner with maybe a glass of wine and getting up at sunrise, to drinking in a bar until 3 am and having a hangover for three days...
    I am very responsible, imaginative and artistic, a hard worker and a social person, and because I'm open minded and empathic I'm easy to get along with. And I have a healthy sense of humor, so if you like to laugh I think we're going to get along just fine! :-))

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I love cooking and my friends tell me I'm very good at it, especially mediterranean, and greek in particular. Because of working on the cityfarm I know a few things about animaI care, such as giving shots, hoof trimming and getting rid of red mite (next to feeding and cleaning of course!). My mum has been terminally ill for a long time before passing away a few years ago, and because of this I have learned to take responsibility and to care for someone from a young age. I have a lot of affinity with the elderly and I like to help and support them by doing voluntary work in a care home. I am proficient in the graphic programs Photoshop and Illustrator with which I make art and illustrations. I also work with gouache, watercolour and pen and ink, the 'traditional way of making art' so to speak. I have built a few websites with website builders like Wix and Weebly and a bit of Wordpress. And I have good communication skills: I write Blogs and other texts for websites. I speak fluent English and absolutely love English poetry and literature, I can recite some poems if you really want me to :-P I've lived in Barcelona for a while so I also speak Spanish quite well and can read and undestand catalan and speak it a little. And of course I could teach you some Dutch, as it's my native tongue. I like to do physical labour, it's the best excercise and leaves you with that wonderful 'tired but satisfied' feeling at the end of the day!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Catalan: Beginner
    German: Beginner
    Greek: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    48

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I don't have a Facebook account. Not because I'm a a moral crusader but because I am just not that much of a Social Media person. But I'm really sociable when you meet me face to face!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Not that I know of.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback