Enya

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, France, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2021 - 15/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Dear hosts!


    First of all, thank you so much for visiting my profile and for considering to welcome me into your project! :)
    My name is Enya, I'm a 19-year-old girl from Germany. I graduated from school in summer 2020 and decided to take a year off and see some parts of the world before going to University in Fall 2021. Due to the crisis, my plans for this gap year (a year abroad in India) were canceled, so since September, I have been on spontaneous adventures somewhere in Europe:
    At the beginning of my gap year, I spent 5 weeks on an animal rescue farm in Portugal. After that, I worked as an au pair in Italy for two months and in the last couple of weeks (beginning in March), I worked on a farm in France where I mainly worked with horses and children.

    Of course, the pandemic makes it really hard to plan journeys abroad and the situation is not easy for anyone of us. However, I'm more than grateful to be able to experience these adventures during such a hard time.

    There is almost no work that I wouldn't offer my help for, but I'm mainly interested in working with people (like children or tourists).

    For the next couple of month, I am looking for a host family ideally in France, Malta, Belgium, Luxembourgh, Switzerland or Liechtenstein. Therefore, I would also love to improve my language skills, especially French and English.
    I could leave anytime soon and probably stay until end of May or beginning of June.

    If you have any questions, feel free to ask! :)

    All the best and stay safe!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Outdoor activities
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    My experience with animals:
    I have quiet some experience with animals and I love taking care of them, no the matter size, type or age. I cared for our guinea pigs for 8 years and for the neighbours dogs and cats from time to time as well.
    I've also been doing horseback riding for about 10 years now. In the last couple of years, I mainly worked with icelandic horses so I might not be used to all the horses that I will meet during my travels, but I am open to adapt to every kind of horse or animal in general. In the last couple of years, I had a "riding participation"/"horse sharing"-arrangement, so there was one horse I mainly cared for multiple times a week and when her owner was out of town.


    My experience with children and teenagers:
    I was able to gain a lot of experience with working with children at my local riding school: In the course of the years, I lead many children's birthday parties and other events at the stable. In the holidays, I also helped to organize holiday games for the children and teenagers and gave riding lessons to children aged 4 to 12 years.
    In addition, while I was in school, I did private tutoring for different students (aged 9-15 years). I tutored them in the subjects German, English and maths and I helped them with preparing for class tests or their homework.
    Furthermore, I stayed as an au pair with an Italian-German family in Italy for two months (from October until December 2020).
    My four host kids were three boys and one girl, the youngest being 6 and the oldest 10 years old.
    Since they couldn't go to school or after school activities during lockdown, we spend almost our whole day together. During that time, we did a lot of home schooling (english, german, french, math and more) and many arts and crafts. To me, it was important to be there for all children at any time (our host parents were quiet busy and therefore not always around) but also spend time with each child individualy from time to time. Together, we attempted to make the time at home less boring with many games, outdoor activities, creative tasks, baking and more. Besides, I accompanied them in their daily routines.


    My language skills:
    My mother language is German. In addition, I speak English fluently and would describe my level of french as „intermediate“.
    I have studied English at school for almost 12 years and it was my main focus during the A-Levels. I believe, my language level is somewhere around „C1“. In the past couple of years, I have been to England twice and always enjoyed speaking english there.
    Furthermore, I studied French at school for about 6 years. Even though I really loved learning it, it's definitely not perfect and I would love to get to speak it fluently one day.
    Besides, I have a basic knowledge of Italian that I learned during my two month aupair stay in Italy from October to December 2020.
    Furthermore, I have tought myself the basics of (the german) sign language.
    I was able to gain experiences with teaching English and German to younger students at school and would be happy to help anyone who is interested in learning one of those languages!
    I would also love to improve my language skills (especially french) or learn a new language by living with a host family and/or visiting a language course!



    Besides, in my freetime I love playing the piano and I like to do all kinds of creative projects like sewing, drawing and crafting, as well as baking. In addition to school, I worked as a graphic and media designer for about two years.
    Though I am not a professional, I know a few things about photography and videography as well, and in case I can help with that, I would love to. :)
    I like to read a lot, my favourite type of books are Thrillers and crime stories.
    I also like to spend a lot of time with friends – even though we are currently restricted to the phone due to the pandemic.
    Of course I love to travel, too. Most of my journeys took me to Europe and Africa, but there are still many countries on my bucket list ;)
    Besides, I can help with computers, smartphone and Internet, if there is any help needed.

    I am ready to get involved in all kinds of projects, no matter how big they are or what they're about.
    If I can, I'm motivated to help in any kind of way. :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    In general, I would describe myself as a positive and happy person that likes to be close to laughters and joy! But at the same time, I am always down for a meaningful conversation about profound topics and can be pensive and thoughful, too. I believe, it's important to offer both sides to the children: an exciting adventure and some cheering up when they need it. But at the same time, to be a good listener and always have an open ear for the children.
    I love to learn new things and expand my horizon. For me, getting to know new cultures and people and making unforgettable memories together is the best part of travelling!
    I love connecting with people and going on adventures together. But at the same time, I can spend time on myself, too and I don't always need action.

    Currently, I am on my first Workaway journeys, so I am still new to it. Please be indulgent if I don't do everything right at the first time. ;)
    However, I will try my best and can't wait to go on the next adventure!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do not have any allergies, but eat vegetarian.

Photos

Feedback