Simon & Emy

  • Germany & Netherlands
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!
    We are Emy and Simon, a Dutchie and a German. We've met in December 2013, at a busstop in Christchurch, New Zealand. Little did we know that many bus (+plane, car, train, ferry, boat, tuktuk, scooter, quad) rides together would follow. Three months later we've traveled South America together, settled in Aachen, Germany, later that year and kept on traveling ever since.

    In 2016 we promised each other that we were gonna take a year off to travel once Simon would finish his Engineering PhD. We decided that we would like to have the freedom to go wherever we want to go, whenever we want to. So over the Christmas holidays of 2017, we bought our house on wheels: Herr Gruber.

    We've been renovating it for the last years, planning possible routes and going on test-trips. Aiming to take off for Mongolia via the old Silk Route. Then Covid-19 came along, so that plan might not work out. But hey, you cannot plan everything in life right?!

    So, we left Germany in September and drove via Switzerland and Italie to Greece, where we are now enjoying the autumn and upcoming winter in this wonderful country.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    First of all we are well open minded for all kind of work, which is also why we entered this platform ;)
    Emy studied hotel management and sustainable tourism. After that she worked for the Dutch government as a policy advisor, at a senior home during corona times and she volunteers for the Red Cross. She speaks all kind of languages and is very into cooking, photography and writing and knows some stuff about online marketing and social media as well.
    Simon studied mechanical engineering and worked as an engineer for 5 years at the university. He likes building stuff, repairing things and everything which comes a long with that. In Germany he had a garage, where he built up and renovated Oldtimer motorbikes and where we also completely built up our van, which is now our home...
    we both grew up on the countryside with a lot of animals at our homes (cats, dogs, horses... to name the ones bigger than a rabbit) so working with animals is not new for us.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    32 & 31

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      We are not allergic. We love food and try everything ;)

    • Special dietary requirements
      Not at all

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback