Tyrone & Emma

  • South Africa & United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello from Emma and Ty!

    A little about us, we met while travelling Vietnam in 2018. Since then Emma has spent a year and a half in Ty's home country (South Africa) where we soaked up the sun and adventures to be had in the wild African bush. After Africa we spent a few months visiting Emma's family in Ireland.

    We are both very adaptable and easy going people with a variety of skills and knowledge. We love meeting new people and immersing ourselves in new cultures. As avid outdoor lovers we tend to spend any free time in the wilderness.

    Emma has previously used Workaway and had many exciting experiences, from volunteering at Africa's largest disabled school in Kenya to working front of desk at hostels in South East Asia.

    Ty has volunteered on a Kibbutz in Israel for 6 months where he gained many practical skills, thereafter completing his degree in South Africa. Ty has also taught English in Vietnam for a year and a half.

    Together we hope to pursue local and immersive experiences on our travels. We are excited to meet new people, make new friends and lifelong memories.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Between us we have a range of skills and experience. We have both volunteered previously and have had a variety of working experience.

    Emma has previously worked in the Film and Tv industry in London before embarking on her travels around Asia. Between travelling and working, Emma has obtained many different skills in a range of working environments. From working with young children to practical outdoor skills as well as working in the hospitality and tourism industry and obtaining a TEFL qualification, teaching English to young children. One of Emma's biggest interests is nature and the environment, most recently Emma completed a Level 2 Certificate course- Understanding Climate Change and Environmental Awareness.

    Ty volunteered on a Kibbutz in Israel where he worked as a plumber/builder. Aside from obtaining a degree in finance, Ty has also obtained a TELF certificate which enabled him to teach English in Vietnam. In South Africa Ty worked as a coordinator for sporting events between colleges. Ty has a very hands on approach which has enabled him to gain confidence in using many different tools and machinery. A lot of free time has been spent working on friends farms, driving tractors and general farm maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    27 & 24

  • What else ...

    We are huge outdoorsy people. We love hiking, camping, working outside, bird watching, going on safari, anything in nature we are all for. Emma has an open water dive certificate from Padi and Ty is hoping to obtain one soon.

    Emma loves to crochet and make crafts. Ty enjoys working with his hands and building things. We both love reading and enjoy cooking together. Scrabble and cards are our games of choice.

    So far we are currently at our 6th workaway on this trip. We have loved every one of them and are looking forward for all the new experiences to come.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      One vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback