Emma

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/08/2017 - 15/02/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    I don't love to travel; I live to travel!

    As of June 2019, I've been on the road continuously for 22 months and have done 15 volunteer projects in that time, in countries including Albania, Turkey, Jordan, Israel, St Kitts & Nevis, Spain and the UK. Every day is a new adventure, every stranger a potential new friend.

    I love my job as an English teacher because when I can't go visit the world, the world comes to visit me. Over the past 10 years I've also been privileged to volunteer and work with animals, tourists, homeless people and international students.

    I have a community spirit and am also a free spirit.

    I see Workaway as a beautiful opportunity to make connections with people all over the world and I can't wait to get involved in your project!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    TEACHING

    I worked as an English teacher for 20 months, teaching general and academic English to international students in Melbourne, Australia. I became a teacher so I could travel the world with a useful and transformative skill, but teaching has become so much more than a means to an end. It's an end in itself, a vocation and a calling and I love it so much.

    TOURISM/HOSPITALITY

    I spent 10 years working and volunteering in the tourism industry in Melbourne, including being an usher and concierge at performing arts venues, tourist information centres and working behind a bar.

    MEDIA & COMMUNICATIONS

    This was my first major at university and I spent nearly five years working in publishing and editing. I'm also a keen writer and photographer and I love being able to spin words into gold.

    SOCIAL WELFARE

    Before teaching, I trained as a social worker and have spent time working in a homeless drop-in centre, counselling mentally ill and suicidal people, and as a school counsellor for international students.

    ANIMAL CARE

    In late 2016, I was a foster carer for a cat family (a mother and her six kittens). This voluntary role involved lots of cleaning and feeding but also so much satisfaction and simple pleasures from seeing my feline family grow and develop. Between March and July 2018, I volunteered at a cat shelter in South Yorkshire, and In December 2018, I spent a month volunteering at a donkey sanctuary on the Caribbean island of Antigua.

    FARMWORK/GARDENING

    In the past 21 months of travelling, I've done two month-long placements on organic farms (one in Israel, one in Puerto Rico) and have also spent a month as a volunteer garden on the Caribbean island of Nevis. I'm a fresh air fiend and love working outdoors!

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French, German, Russian and Dutch

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan (vegetarian when travelling)

Photos

Feedback