Emily

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/01/2018 - 31/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1473

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi there, my name is Emily. I am originally from the U.S. but have been traveling/living abroad for over a year now. I currently reside in Arequipa, Peru, where I teach English. In February I will begin traveling again and am hoping to find a Workaway to spend a few weeks/months at. I have worked at a number of previous Workaways including an organic, self-sustainable farm in Spain, a small start-up farm in Morroco in which most of the work involved building a well and planting, a goat cheese farm in Andalucia, Spain, and two different eco-lodges with organic gardens/different sustainable projects in Colombia, and finally, at a hostel on the Caribbean coast of Colombia. All of these experiences have been extremely rich and different from each other but I have none the less gained a lot of knowledge and experience from each. I have also discovered a love for farming and being close to nature. I can speak Spanish but I'm not fluent and still make many mistakes in my speech. One of my goals is to stay at a Workaway in which Spanish is mainly spoken so that I can improve my Spanish skills.

    Hola, mi llamo Emily! Soy de estado unidos pero he estado viajando por un año. En esta momento vivo en Arequipa. Peru. Soy maestra de ingles aca. Voy a viajar otra vez en febrero y espero que encuentre un buen workaway. Trabaje en una granja subsestinable en españa, una granja nueva en marruecos y construye un poza. Tambien, trabaje en un otra granja en españa con cabras, dos ecolodges en Colombia, y un hostal cerca el caribe en Colombia. Aprendí mucho de los experiencias y quiero seguir aprender sobre trabajar en una granja. Me encanta la vida en el campo y naturaleza. Hablo espanol pero quiero seguir aprender y practicar mi espanol. Finalmente, tengo 4 meses de experiencia ensenar ingles y tengo mi certificado de TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Skilled writer (creative writing undergrad), teaching English, cooking, gardening, good with children, good with animals (I had five cats and a dog growing up), good with people/customer service jobs (I've been a server for 6 years), manual labor (I am fairly fit and stay active snowboarding, hiking, rock climbing, running, etc. so heavy lifting and manual labor projects should not be a problem for me), I am a fast learner so learner new skills should not be a problem for me and I am very open to learner new things!

  • Languages spoken

    English and some spanish (in the learning process)

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback