Emil

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/07/2014 - 08/09/2014

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I am a recently graduated Psychology student who has a passion for learning about a wide variety of subjects.

    As a Psychology student, I have now acquired a deep want for learning about different people from different cultures and this has brought out in me an exceptionally open-minded perspective towards almost everything. I have lived in Canada, Madrid and travelled around many countries throughout Europe. However, Portugal is one country I haven't been able to visit just yet, hence this trip. Also related to Psychology, I currently volunteer for mental health charities and enjoy how rewarding a volunteering position can be. The exchange of help towards common goals really entices me.

    I have a great work ethos with a want to make sure that any work I do is done to an exceptional standard. I am a very sociable person who loves interacting with people and endeavours to constantly have a positive attitude towards life. I am frequently asked how I maintain my level of enthusiasm throughout life and I believe it's because I have been able to learn and extrapolate wisdom from the range of experiences I have been through in my life so far. This also allows me to maintain enthusiasm and motivation towards many elements of my life.

    My interests at the moment are reading academically orientated books that change my beliefs about topics, weekly yoga, daily meditation, cooking, exercising, camping and wild-living, surfing and water sports, music and so many more.
    I wish to travel through Portugal to enjoy a more simple period of my life before studying for an MSc in London. Please consider any of my applications, and ask me anything you would like to know.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Other than having an academic background I have also worked in larger and smaller companies during my teens and early twenties. These experiences have allowed me to gain a good understanding of how larger and smaller companies are organised and predominantly the importance of working together as a team. I have recently been working in a supermarket to save up for my MSc. In the 8 months of working, I have been trained in the Café, Deli counter, Meat and Fish counter and Welcome Desk. All of these areas have the common theme of working with people, and that is because I love that doing this the most.

    I am a fast learner and this is complemented by my constant willingness to try new things and learn from these experiences.

    I am a very orderly, clean and tidy person. I tend to enjoy organising my personal space and cleaning in general because of the obvious satisfaction gained from seeing a tidy area.

    My number one asset is my communication skills, which have allowed me to get through many difficulties with other individuals and also aided me in building strong and greatly satisfying relationships with friends and family.

    My mum is a chef who has very fortunately imparted some of her knowledge onto me. I am largely vegetarian and enjoy many aspects of a vegan diet, and because of this I now have a passion for eating healthy, fresh and deliciously varied food. I know how to prepare a range of dishes, and I really enjoy learning more about cooking.

    My mum is also an avid gardener who has taught me the satisfaction of learning how to maintain and nurture different plants. There is something about being able to get into nature and getting my hands dirty that feels really satisfying, especially when doing so results in my own organic fresh fruit and vegetables. Also, I have worked during some summers with a tree surgeon and landscape gardener, so I have some general knowledge about that area as well. I believe the above demonstrates that my skills and interests are pretty varied, and I hope that means that they may suit your needs.

  • Languages spoken

    English and basic Spanish

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback