Emer & Shane

  • Ireland
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling


    Surfing, hiking, kayaking, gardening, carpentry, ceramics

  • Description

    Hi, Hola! We're Emer (25) and Shane (26) :) A little about us....

    We're both from Dublin, Ireland but we've been living on ireland's West Coast since last September in an old farmhouse that Emer's granddad grew up in We're both interested in sustainable building and living practices as we've spent the last year renovating the house (which turned 100 years old this year!) and have further plans for it. We are currently travelling in Spain in a campervan that we converted and we are keen to meet like minded people, share what we've learned and get ideas from other people's projects that we can bring home to our place.

    We're both fully vaccinated and respectful of Covid-19 regulations.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    We are both handy and have carried out loads of DIY projects this year including a campervan conversion, tiling, kitchen renovation, wooden work bench and shelf building etc. We've also done a lot of gardening and landscaping work this year at our place and commercially. All our gardening work has been done from a sustainable and organic viewpoint. Emer is a novice potter but has built and fired her own kiln. Shane has been kayaking since he was 12 and has represented Ireland in freestyle kayaking. Emer is a graduate of World Politics and Shane a graduate of Mechanical Engineering. When the pandemic struck Emer was working for an NGO for undocumented migrants and Shane was working as a project engineer in Dublin's Port Tunnel.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Irish: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Would love to improve on our Spanish!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    26 & 26

  • Nationality

    Irish

  • What else ...

    We are both really friendly and easy to get along with. We are new to work away but really excited about joining the community and the prospect of getting involved in local projects and learning new skills.
    We're keen to help out on projects similar to ours in Ireland and would love to setup our own workaway in Ireland soon.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback