Emily & Isabella

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/09/2020 - 30/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello!

    We're Emily (28, the one with the short hair) and Bella (25, the one with the long hair). Emily is a marine biologist/aspiring science teacher and Bella an animal behaviour masters graduate/major bird nerd. We are so excited to be travelling across New Zealand; getting to learn new skills, explore new places and meet new faces!

    A bit about us:
    We have been together for over four years now, and since meeting have travelled extensively together, from Vietnam to California, lived in a small wee town in Scotland for a year, discovered a new passion for rock climbing and successfully introduced 10 Kiwi's and counting to the British delicacy that are rock buns (Think scone meets cake, rock-like in appearance only)! We're now here in NZ, Emily's first ever visit, to see if it feels like somewhere we would eventually want to settle down together (spoiler alert: it's a yes!) after Bella found herself missing the lush bush walks, black sand beaches and vibrant Pohutukawa blossoms of her childhood. NZ is the ultimate playground for us; we both love nature and the outdoors, are keen kayakers, skiers/snowboarders, hikers and rock climbers, though we never say no to a night of board games!

    Why Workaway?
    We decided to join Workaway because of the unique immersive experience it offers. You can read so much online or in guidebooks, and plan a stunning itinerary, but its in the interactions with the locals, the recommendation of hidden gems and the stories, food and laughter shared that really make the trip and give you the truest impression of that place. Workaway allows us to experience your little slice of home from a local perspective rather than a visitor, whilst sharing what skills and knowledge we have, and helping out in any way possible along the way. And with luck, we may just find ourselves in the position of hosts in ten years or so!

    What are we looking to learn?
    Over the last eleven months here in Aotearoa we have been fortunate enough to have spent some time working for an off grid renewable energy company, manufacturing components for solar powered pumps and hydro turbines, a completely new field of work for us both! We enjoy learning new skills, and getting stuck in to our work, no matter the task or the weather! We hope to gain new skills and knowledge in the fields of sustainability, permaculture, DIY, welding, outdoor recreation and beekeeping, among others, however we're just as content to be helping out around the house, with animals, children or with any other projects you may have.

    We would also be more than happy to arrange a skype/facetime catch up if you'd like to meet us face to face, have any questions for us, or want to see if we'd be a good fit for you!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Whilst we may be fairly new to workawaying, we’ve got plenty of experience over the last ten years volunteering and working in:

    - Gardening projects and maintenance
    - Air BnB changeovers/ cleaning
    - Painting interiors and exteriors
    - Conservation and land clearance
    - Pet sitting
    - Babysitting
    - Animal shelter work
    - Tutoring
    - Bar/kitchen/waitressing
    - Outdoor instructing
    - Tourism

    Feel free to ask us about any examples, we’re also open to helping out in any other ways we can be useful, and not shy of learning a new skill or five!

    Our most recent workaway was to an incredible eco home and organic garden in Northland where we set to work raking up large areas of Tradescantia weed and pulling up errant mint bushes, turning compost piles, collecting manure and giving the outside and inside of the property a clean.

    Thanks to our work re-wiring stators for hydro turbine and solar pumps we also have experience in a busy workshop, using power tools and soldering.

    As we mentioned above we are both biology graduates, Bella is looking to start a PhD and eventually become a research scientist/lecturer and Em is planning on starting teacher training to become a High School science teacher so feel free to utilise us for homework help or get Bella started on the topic of birds and nest building to be entertained for hours!

    We're also super keen to help out in the kitchen, we love cooking up veggie roast dinners, indian daals, spinach tarts and pumpkin pasta, and Em will happily bake cakes, rock buns and scones until the cows come home.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    29 & 26

  • Nationality

    British and British Kiwi

  • What else ...

    We are pretty flexible when it comes to dates and times as for possibly the first time in our adult lives we have a virtually free calendar! Happy to slot in whenever suits you best!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Hayfever but managed with antihistamines

    • Special dietary requirements
      Bella is Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback