Ella & Helen

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/06/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello everyone !
    I’m Helen- I'm an outdoorsy, adrenaline-driven, curious 20 year old girl from Ireland!
    I'm really excited to meet new people and exchange our cultures while helping you with any project you have lined up!
    I’m studying psychology and hope to become a child psychologist...I’m really interested in people and seeing the different ways people live-I have done numerous stints of long term travel abroad as I love seeing what real life is for the everyday person in a country.
    I like to speak with people who care about something meaningful and aren't just money-driven. I think people on this platform seem to have that same outlook.
    I love to meet new people, and hear their stories and get to know different cultures, and this is one of the main reasons I have chosen to do workaway.
    I am curious and independent but from the jobs I've worked and the university I attend I've learned to be dependable-I don't go at any job halfheartedly and I'll work to achieve the best I can with anything I set my mind to. I'm excited to learn as much as I can and I'm open to learning new things and getting to know you during my stay!

    I grew up on a dairy farm in a small rural village in Cork and so I have always had a love for nature, animals and the outdoors-as children, we would be herded outside to make fun for ourselves and everything from a peculiarly-shaped stick to a bale of hay was a potential source of endless entertainment.
    Life on a farm has made me very hard working and I promise to put all of that energy into helping you as much as I can. On the farm, there is not let-up to the work that needs to be done, so there is no slacking off.
    In my free time I love to spend time in the water, going for long walks around the hills of our farm, playing piano and trying out new recipes in the kitchen and I'd love to learn any local recipes you have while I'm there
    My friend owns a kayaking company in west cork, where I love to go kayaking or SUP paddling and this is definitely something I want to pursue.
    My family have a mobile home by the sea where I spent every summer, mid-term break, long weekend...I'm really comfortable in the water and love spending as much time as I can there.
    I'm really keen to learn more watersports, I'm open to all kinds, surfing, SUP paddling, waterskiing...anything on the water, Ill be happy to try!
    I am a laid back and relaxed and open person and I feel fellow travellers and workaway hosts' view on life is similar to mine and the Irish in general, especially in our love of meeting new people with a friendly face.
    I really love music -everything from Debussy to the Kinks-hopefully I’ll meet some others with the same taste on my travels :)
    I also like to write, can you tell?!
    So I will hand over the reigns to Ella...
    Hi there, my name is Ella and I'm also 20 years old and from Ireland. I'm an Irish girl at heart but I love travelling and exploring other cultures and learning about other parts of the world!
    I study Medicine in University, and work part-time as a Healthcare Assistant in hospitals and nursing homes.
    I'm a people person by nature - my idea of misery would definitely be having to work and live on my own, so I'm really excited to meet you and help you with your projects!
    I'm also from the countryside, and living in the city during the college year has made me realise how lucky I am to do so. I love the outdoors and working in the fresh air, going for walks and swimming in the river at home.
    I chose to do Workaway because it's such a great opportunity to meet new people and work in varied and unfamiliar environments. I've worked in the healthcare sector, the education sector and the law sector in various part-time jobs and I'm looking for something a little different this summer!
    I'm a practical girl and I enjoy hands-on work. I'm not afraid to get my hands dirty, so to speak! I am also from a farming background, so early mornings and long days of work with animals and machinery doesn't faze me.
    I love sport, music and reading, and have a special interest in languages. I'd love to pick up a few phrases of the local dialect while I'm with you!

    P.S we are happy to video chat before we come if you wish, or to give you any references from our work :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    1) Helen-
    Growing up on a family farm means I'm used to hard work and helping my parents as much as I can.
    From a young age I've helped milk cows, feed calves and look after our hens and ducks.
    I spent many summers at my aunts stud farm, and while there, my cousins and I rose early to muck out, make up beds of straw for the horses, make sure they had enough water and hay and grooming the horses.
    I'm studying Applied Psychology in UCC, which includes a Digital Literacy module which teaches various computer programmes.
    Bank teller: I spent 4 months one summer, and another month over the busy Christmas period working as a teller in a bank in the city.
    Working in a bank gave me very good cash handling skills, as I was trusted with very large amounts of money.
    I was also expected to safely ID customers
    This taught me to be very diligent in my work and how to deal with customers in a friendly manner, chit chatting with them and getting their work done efficiently at the same time; a skill that can only be taught through working in customer service.
    When I was studying for my state exams I found getting up early (4 AM) brilliant,
    as I have always been an early riser and like getting my work done early and starting my day as soon as the sun rises!
    I love baking, cooking and trying out new recipes in the kitchen, as working with food is a big passion of mine since my mother was always baking something in the kitchen growing up. I cook mostly vegan/vegetarian so I've become interested in spices and herbs a lot more and I read a lot of recipe books to understand this way of cooking more.
    I babysit regularly for children that live near me and I have experience teaching and looking after children in Rome for 3 months and Paris for nine months.
    I worked in the fitness center in the nearest town, cleaning, looking after equipment, and working in reception.
    I have always done household chores around the house so I'm very comfortable doing any work in relation to that.
    I am comfortable working on my own or as part of a team, whatever is needed at the time.
    I have been playing camogie -a native sport- consisting of 15 players, since I was six, so I am used to working and coordinating with a team. I would be happy to teach you how to play it!
    I am qualified to teach piano, and would be delighted to help any budding pianist !!
    We have two dogs (the two things I will probably find it most difficult to leave!) and I would be really happy to be in the company of dogs or any animals!
    I spent two weeks at an Irish summer college situated on the west coast of Ireland, where I got the chance to windsurf, kayak, surf, dive and water ski in the Atlantic ocean
    Since I came home I have continued with the paddling and kayaking and would love the opportunity to pursue
    water sports where possible!
    I'd love to expand on my skills, so I'm very open to learning any new things necessary while I'm there !
    2) Ella
    I am just finishing the second year of my Medical studies in university, so am trained in First Aid and CPR. I know how to deal with anything from minor injuries to MI's!
    As part of my part time job in nursing homes and hospitals as a Healthcare Assistant, I am responsible for getting patients up in the morning, washing them, dressing them, feeding them, chatting and playing with them, helping them in the bathroom and all their mobility needs. I clean the wards, dress the beds and do the laundry, so any aspect of caring for people or animals, or helping around the house, is no trouble for me. Working in healthcare comes with a lot of responsibility, so I am used to working in high-pressure environments.
    In summer 2016 and 2017, I worked as a youth leader in summer Irish language camps for teenagers. I had to teach the students Irish, while also giving them their meals, supervising them at night, and partaking in and supervising all their activities, such as sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, abseiling, etc. I am certified and trained in all these activities. I also composed a song and dance routine in Irish to the tune of 'Mama Mia' for our end of camp show!
    In summer 2017 I worked as a receptionist in a law firm, where I gained experience in bureaucracy and handling money. Importantly, I learned of the necessity of confidentiality here also.
    I am a student leader in my university, where I look after new First Year students, run their Orientations at the start of the semester, and meet them during the year to answer all their questions. I also acted as Deputy Head Girl in my secondary school.

  • Languages spoken

    Both of us speak English, Irish and French

  • Age

    21 & 20

  • What else ...

    1) Helen-
    in short, as a workawayer I will do my best to handle any task I am given, and I will be flexible to your needs at the time!
    I would be so delighted to get to know my hosts, yet I understand that you may be very busy people, so I will adapt to your wishes and what you want from the workaway experience!
    I'm more than happy to email or videochat as much as you wish before I go.
    Counting the minutes as I hope to hear from you,
    Warmly,
    Helen

    2) Ella

    Just like Helen, I'm willing to adapt to whatever your wishes are, and am really looking forward to meeting you. Here's to lots of productivity and plenty of fun too!

    Looking forward to chatting with you,

    Ella

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      N/A

    • Special dietary requirements
      Helen is pescatarian

Photos

Ella skiing on the black slopes!!
Helen on her family farm with her two prized possessions!
Helen and Ella on their travels!
Ella and her dog Milly. Helen and Ella adore dogs as you can see!
Helen on the water in Greece
We are water babies as you can see!!
Ella
Helen out on the boat in west cork with her family
Helen and Ella playing our native sport camogie-happy to be teachers!!
Helen feeding the calves on the family farm
Helen with her dog Suzannah-whom she'll probably find it most difficult to leave!
A clearly candid Helen
Ella and I always laughing!
Happiest when...

Feedback