Lambert & Elke

From: United Kingdom & Switzerland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/08/2018 - 05/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    701

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi everybody! We are Lambert and Elke, two students living in Glasgow, Scotland. We love to go hiking in the Highlands and surrounding mountains and bathing whenever we have the occasion, in the ice-cold lakes or the ocean, and think travelling should be like a mountain trip: well-planned but full of new adventures and things to learn.
    We always travel together, not only like a couple but more as two friends and travelmates. We took a gap year from spring 2016 to summer 2017 and volunteered on the Canary Islands, Finland, USA, Canada during our travels (we hitchhiked through USA and Canada for 12 000km, taking about 130 cars!). We already travelled a lot together and what really brings us together, beside our love for new adventures, is our love for meeting new people and helping out everywhere we can. Please read on if you'd like to get to know us!
    Elke is 22 and has lived in Geneva for most of her life. She grew up in Southern Germany (she's German and Swedish) and studied translation (seems a logical choice, right). She's about to finish her Master's degree in Glasgow and (as if it would not be enough) she's doing a second Master's degree in World Heritage Conservation and UNESCO patrimony. She's very passionate about music, dancing and reading (politics, history, poetry and much more). She has always been very concerned about the ecological, human and cultural issues of her almost-home-city and has spent the last years working in these fields using the skills she knows best: languages. Hence she translated websites, did some interpreting in music and film venues but also did some more challenging, hard work like carrying music and film material and working as an assistant on sound and light systems.
    During her freetime she is always outdoors, doing some hiking or reading a book in the sun. She loves to make jokes and to have fun and one of the main goals she set to herself is to make people laugh everyday, to make sure they're having a good time! She has been doing a no-shampoo routine for the past four years, which means she washes her hair with some kind of green mud she calls green clay, which makes her look like a green monster everytime she washes her hair.
    Lambert is 23 and comes from the French city of Lyon. He studied photography and music and came to Geneva for a Bachelor in Visual Arts. He is pursuing his Bachelor in Interaction Design in Glasgow. He is working in the music scene and is involved in a Glaswegian band as a violin player. But he has also taken on some more physical jobs like courier by bike, chauffeur, handler and has done some maintaining in fridge companies and clothing stores.
    He's a self-made man: he composes and produces his own music, makes his own furniture, does some gardening and keeping his place cosy and roots-like could be described as his priority number 1.
    But the moment of the day when Lambert is the most happy is at the end of the day, when he makes some food and has some people over for dinner. He needs people around him to really feel well, because he loves to make people smile and feel well themselves. He's a good listener, maybe because he's very kind and empathic. He's good at story-telling as well, as he loves to take people with him and make them travel to his imaginary worlds full of woods, waterfalls and stars.
    Please write us if you have any more questions!
    PS: We may seem a bit young but we have been independant at a very young age, which has taught us a lot of motivation and courage - and a terribly, sarcastic sense of humour.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Language skills: French, German, English and a bit of Italian. We can translate, interpret and teach in all these languages, except Italian where we only have a school level.
    In- and outdoor: gardening, woodworking, cleaning, storing, carrying things, painting, welding (and soldering electronic components).
    Artistic skills: music, photography, graphic design.
    Social: teaching, communication, welcoming and helping people (guiding tourists for e.g.)
    We are creative and very concerned about social and ecological issues, so very willing to help in engaged projects, may it be some physical tasks or some creative, artistic work!
    And, most important: we can cook. Always trying to make fresh, local food!

  • Languages spoken

    French , English, German, Italian

  • Age

    24 & 23

  • Nationality

    French / German-Swedish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Southern France, 2016
Elke welding at our workaway in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia
Proudly growing and taking care of plants and vegetables at our Workaway in the Canary Islands, 2016
hitchhiking 12000km in North America! Staying on a permaculture community in Vancouver Island
Doctor Lambert ? London, 2016
Playing Vivaldi / University Orchestra, Lyon, 2014
Workawaying in Eastern Quebec We created this sculpture that meant to fit the spirit of the place, the Gîte TerreCiel.
Decorating the garden of our Workaway on the Canary Islands, 2016
Trekking in the Alps, 2016
Trekking in British Columbia, Canada, 2017
Baking kanelbullar (cinnamon buns), the Swedish way!

Feedback