Eleanor

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Cook Islands, Indonesia, New Zealand, Thailand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    05/08/2019 - 15/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    150

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi! Salut! Ciao! Kia ora!
    My name's El, and I’m travelling around the world to explore different cultures and ways of living, and to learn on the go!
    I come from a small town in the West Midlands of England. I would describe myself as happy, easy-going and independent. I'm really interested in learning how to manage a permaculture garden and other manual skills such as gardening, landscaping, construction. I am a fast learner and very enthusiastic, so I hope I can pick up some skills while staying with you!
    I am very excited to meet new people and families from other countries - I think connecting to others and sharing our experiences is a great thing. Another reason that draws me to travel is the diversity and incredible beauty of the landscape and nature in Europe and New Zealand. I cannot wait to see all the crazy stunning natural places out there! I'm a big food-lover so I'm always happy to help out in the kitchen and learn your local cuisine! And finally, I love picking up bits of language as I travel, as I love learning and think being multilingual is so important :)
    Some of the things I love are yoga, walking, running, cycling, playing guitar and piano, reading, journaling, making art, listening to music, and photography! I deeply love being connected to and emerged in nature. I think that I am a positive and friendly person, who can work hard.
    In a few years I want to study nutrition, but for now I just want to see the world and experience different ways of life. I spent the first half of this year travelling around north Europe with WorkAway doing everything from language teaching to gardening to animal care on farms! I've had some fantastic experiences, connected with some amazing people and I can't wait to do it all again!
    Hope to hear from you soon!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have a qualification in TEFL (teaching English to learners professionally), and have experience teaching/tutoring a range of ages, from pre-school to adult in a variety of settings and group sizes :)

    I have experience in, and love, working with younger children and teaching small groups. On a voluntary basis, I have assisted in teaching children's dance classes, taught debating workshops in a local school, and looked after younger children and toddlers to improve language skills and just to have fun!

    I have also volunteered for several years in a charity shop, where I served customers, created displays, organised the stock, and tasted the chocolate!

    My previous job was as a barista/waitress at a restaurant/café, so I can make good coffee, chat to customers, clean, and be proactive in making sure any small tasks are done so that the operation runs smoothly.

    As previously mentioned I've spent the past year doing a range of WorkAway jobs from teaching to farm work. I can cook simple meals, do basic household and farm tasks ect. I have basic gardening skills, computer skills, artistic and creative skills, and am quite academically strong, so can help children with school work. I can also drive, play the guitar and dance salsa!!

  • Languages spoken

    English, conversational-level French

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Look forward to hearing from you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Hiking in France
On a walk with friends!
ParkRun in Fontainebleau, France
Family meal (I'm top right!)
Volunteering with children's dance class - brainstorming ideas for their dance sequence.
Walking in Asiago, Italy summer 2019
Volunteering with children's class - performance day, in our 'Disney Princess' costumes!
In Bologna with a friend from the road!
With my friend - about to climb Snowdon!
Rehearsals with my college dance class!
My dad keeps bees!

Feedback