Dora

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, Iceland, Luxembourg, Macedonia

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/09/2020 - 20/10/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    781

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Dora, until a month ago a master student in medicine in the Netherlands, but now I am taking a break off studying to focus on other things that are important to me in life, such as family, music, arts, and personal development.
    During my first traveling experience as an 18-year-old in Southeast Asia, I discovered that I greatly preferred working as a volunteer over visiting one touristic highlight after another, as it gives you a so much more valuable experience. Since then, I'm doing Workaway whenever I can find the time, with three amazing Workaway experiences on the list so far.
    I am someone who is always eager to learn new things and broaden my horizon. I am amiable and generally calm, and I gain energy from being around people rather than being by myself. However, I am also good at focusing on my own things, such as reading, drawing, cooking and learning new languages.
    I want to have a complete break from my normal routines right at the start of this study break, which is why I am looking for a Workaway place for the first month. From the end of October I have other traveling plans, so for now my availability is only from half Sept-half Oct.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about: 

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a people person and I absolutely love children, which also shows in my previous Workaway experiences. I worked in a Cambodian drop-in center for poor and neglected children where we provided a safe place to meet other children and taught English classes every day, next to running the kitchen and residence building. Just before an exchange semester in South Korea, I worked in a hydroponic strawberry farm over there, where I both did farm work and ran guided family tours in the farm. Lastly, I joined an amazing household in France during the winter, where my activities involved more general maintenance and garden work.

    From these and my other life experiences, I have gotten good at quickly connecting to people, adjusting to new situations and working hard when it's needed. I love cooking, and so far mostly have experience cooking for myself and for friends, but I would also like to learn cooking for bigger groups. I also really want to become fluent in French and improve my Arabic.

    Talking about more specific skills; I love playing the piano and guitar, to sing and I tend to take my ukulele with me everywhere I go (I'm not a professional at all, but I know how to play most of the chords and like to sing along with the songs I play). I also draw a lot, mostly portrait drawing. In both of these - music and arts - I could give classes or workshops if that fits with the Workaway environment.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner

  • Age

    23

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    Even if I don't have the perfect skills a Workaway place, I can promise that I learn quickly and am always up for a challenge, with the promise of a positive mindset :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback