Dominique & Alessandro

  • Switzerland & Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Colombia - from Jun 2023 until Jul 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! We are Dominique and Alessandro, and currently live in Rome, Italy.

    Dominique:
    I'm originally from Switzerland but after spending time in South America, Australia, and the United States, I've settled in beautiful Italy—for now. I work as a freelance editor and content writer, but my true passion lies in writing stories, and I'm in the process of finishing my first novel. I speak English, German, and Italian.

    Alessandro:
    I was born in Rome, Italy, and have worked as a pizza chef for many years. I love to cook, and have spent two years working as a chef in Switzerland. My dream is to one day open a little bakery, since I'm fascinated by everything related to bread-baking. I speak Italian, English, and am learning German.

    Together, we like to travel to new places, taste international food, learn about new cultures, and meet lovely people from all around the world—and maybe even find a place we want to relocate to! We spent summer 2021 in a lovely village in Crete, Greece. In May, we'll be travelling through Botswana for two weeks, camping and enjoying nature and wildlife.

    This summer, we'd love to experience a cooler climate. We've enjoyed our trip to Scotland in 2019 very much and would love to get a deeper look into everyday life there.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    Culture
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I can teach German, English and basic Italian

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Art Projects
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
  • More details about your skills

    Dominique:
    I've worked in journalism and digital marketing for over ten years. Before starting my career in writing, I've worked in tourism, welcoming guests from all over the world in their holiday homes. Supporting myself throughout my studies, I've taken on various side-jobs, for example as: a cleaner in a cinema, an assistant at auctions, a cashier in a super market, a bartender in an Irish pub.
    I can teach English, German, and basic Italian.

    Alessandro:
    The kitchen is my territory. I especially love to bake bread, make pizza, or cook nice Italian pasta dishes. I have limited handyman skills, and a special bond with cats—I might have been one myself, in a previous life :) I've also worked as a barista and make exceptionally good coffee.

    We're both good with small kids, having a toddler nephew and a baby niece, and even though we've never had any animals of our own, we love their company.

  • Age

    33 & 34

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Feedback