From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/12/2015 - 07/09/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • My status


  • Description

    I'm Dom. A 37 year old carpenter, builder and furniture maker from the UK.
    This is my Fourth year travelling and volunteering on workaway projects. I have been privileged to work on some incredible projects so far. From renovating a vineyard in North Portugal, managing a workaway in the south of Portugal where I was responsible for up to 70 other volunteers and making 1000 pizzas every Friday night, helping build up a new bar in Portugal, renovating a house in Spain,working at a tree house resort on a small island in Cambodia. Helping to build an eco resort in Thailand and also working on a fabulous project in the south of France.
    For the last year I returned to the most beautiful project to in the south of France where I was asked to be the host! Truely a great honour and privileged. It was a great success in every area. In the time there I was responsible for the other guys and making sure we all had a good time and enjoyed our work.
    During this time a dream of mine came true. I built a little house in the woods. A stone house. Something I feel very proud off and very happy about the finish. From digging the foundation's to making the walls doors and tiling the roof. All made by my own hands. Please see the pics below.
    I shall be returning to this project later in the year where we will continue the workaway program. Until then I'm on the road again looking for new experiences and hoping to meet some cool guys to laugh and work alongside at the right projects
    Each project has been an amazing experience and I have made so many new friends from every corner of the world.
    It's not always an easy ride with workaway as I have experienced some horrible hosts whom only wish is for cheap labour with no connection to the volunteers or project. However I have been very blessed by meeting and helping some of the most wonderful people on this fine planet. It is such a wonderful feeling to return to these nice places and meet up with the hosts/friends to see how the projects have grown and blossomed.
    On average I like to spend at least one month If not more at each project so to use workaway for an experience and not a cheap way to holiday.
    Look forward to hearing and hopefully meeting you lovely hosts where ever in the world that may be :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Woodworking. Plumbing. Plastering. Wall building. Simply electrics. Tiling. Painting. Basically all forms of construction/building. Also have a degree and my own business where I make crazy bespoke furniture

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I'd like to think people would say I'm a genuinely nice guy with a strong work ethic. Can be extremely creative with the simplest materials. My furniture has been exhibited in galleries across the UK and have a wonderful client base who all reorder when they can. Have renovated countless barns and houses over the years.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements