Annemieke

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/09/2017 - 03/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi,
    My name is Annemieke, a warmhearted, enthousiastic, caring and responsible Dutch lady. Nice to meet you!

    All my life I wanted to travel for a longer time and now finally, at my 47th, I'm on my way. A few years ago a burn-out gave me the final push to go. Last year I quit my job, started my own company and left home for a travel for at least a year. During my travels I do remote work (writing for Dutch companies) and I have my own blog (www.onherway.nl).
    And as I also love to meet new people and other cultures, want to know much more about the local lifestyle and don't want to hang around in hostels or backpackers all the time, I do love the concept of Workaway!

    The past 7 months I have been travelling in South Africa, Western Australia, Bali and now in Victoria, combining the absolute joy of travelling with writing and some wonderful Work Away experiences!
    At the moment I am in Melbourne, staying with a lovely 82-year old lady and help her out with shoppings, cooking and everything that needs te be done.

    In the past 20 years I did a lot of different volunteering at home also:
    - as a teamleader in summercamps for children with respitorial problems,
    - as a teamleader for a group of adolescents, building a nursery in Ghana,
    - worked with elephants, streetchildren and did rangeractivities in South-Africa,
    - worked with HIV-invected women and children in a community project in Malawi

    This gives an idea who I am: I love to do many different things! As a person I'm enthousiastic, flexible, hands-on, pro-active and very social, always looking for nice new people and projects :)

    I hope to meet you soon!

    Warm regards,
    Annemieke

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Next to all kinds of volunteering (see therefore my description above) , I have been a professional office manager and teacher, so I'm an organizer, multi-tasker, have good project management and computer skills, get along with kids very well, but also love to work outside with my hands. I really love to do all kinds of things!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    50

  • Nationality

    Netherlands

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I don't eat much meat.

Feedback