From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Greenland, Norway, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2018 - 01/01/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there,

    My name is Dini and I grew up on a farm in the Netherlands. By now I have done multiple workaways in Iceland (2015), Australia, Finland (2017) and Norway (2018). I find it one of the best ways to travel, learn new skills and meet people.

    At the start of 2018 I came back home in the Netherlands to work as a software test engineer at a company that develops milking robots. Unfortunately this (office) job turned out not to be it for me right now and made me quite unhappy. Therefore I made the decision to quit this job and follow my heart. The thing I want to do most right now is to travel to see and learn more about this beautiful planet.
    My planning for 2019 is to first revisit my first workaway hosts of 2015 in Iceland. Then I hope to arrive during spring in Canada for which I have a working holiday visa of a year.

    Being a farmers daughter and having studied agricultural engineering I often end-up on farms or working with animals. Having an agricultural background, I love to see how farming is done in other countries (and to do some work myself). I would especially like to learn more about herding and dog training since it is one of my wishes to have and train my own dog one day (rather sooner than later). Besides farming I also love nature and would like to experience some off-grid living in the wilderness as this is something we do not really have in the highly populated Netherlands.

    I'm always open for some other new experiences and adventures to learn new skills and meet people I otherwise wouldn't get to know.

    Hope to meet you soon!

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    As a farmers daughter I'm good with any work around the farm (e.g. from tractor driving to shoveling manure) and I have learned to work hard. Furthermore, I have studied Biosystems Engineering so I have knowledge about (modern) farm technology and do know my way around with computers (but I rather spend less time behind them). Since my student time I have lived on my own and with housemates so I know how to live together, clean a house and how to cook for myself and others (but don't expect me to be a masterchef).
    Besides, I'm eager to learn any other new skills!

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch and English (German and French only a little)

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


Enjoying Australia
Taking a selfie with the sheepdog during one of my workaway experiences in Australia
Enjoying a beautiful sunset after a day out with new made friends during a workaway in Australia
Done loading the straw bales during a workaway in Tasmania, Australia
Making new 4-legged friends at the husky kennel in Varangerbotn
Can anyone call this work?
Finishing the job on the farm back home with a beautiful sunset
Working with sheep on a boat during a workaway in Norway
Driving through the snow with my host and other workawayer
On top of a Silo during my internship in Australia where I worked with autonomous robots