Dhkrasser

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/09/2018 - 30/11/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    255

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi,

    We are an adventurous outdoorsy (and sometimes indoorsy) long term couple that enjoy exploring the unknown. We have grown up and lived in Cape Town and now feel the need to experience different cultures together. We have travelled internationally previously, however we want to immerse ourselves in the day to day life style of another world so to speak.

    I enjoy the physical world, am more introverted and do not mind getting my hands dirty. I am a registered professional construction manager by trade and would prefer working where I am building/modelling/renovating or restoring a house or structure. I have grown up in a family of animals lovers and farmers, so to work in the country would be ideal.

    Ondine (born and bred in Connecticut) is a video producer, online editor, social media manager, remote business owner and the life of every party (the extrovert). Ondine is really great at making people feel comfortable in her company and is amazing with her creativity of healthy, organic, plant based dishes :)

    Together we are a bit of a ying and yang, however we bring different personality traits to the social circle that will bring out the best of people. We are happy, grateful and inquisitive. We believe in peace, love, unity, community, respect, open-mindedness and uniqueness.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Derek: Construction management, handyman, building, agriculture, animals and E-commerce.

    Ondine: PC knowledge, Videography and editing, corporate entertainment, gardening, vegetarian and vegan cooking, jam-making and food fermenting.

    Both: Adventure, discussion, literature, movies, wine tasting (we are from the best wine region in the world after all ;) ), humour, history, art (more Ondine), adrenaline (more Derek) and nature.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Afrikaans, some German/French.

  • Age

    35 & 33

  • Nationality

    South African / American

  • What else ...

    We have successfully traded with Air B&B as host and tenants, as well as Home Swop. Our families are in South Africa, Austria and the USA.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Derek diving with sharks in Gansbaai
Ondine with her coconut in Zanzibar
With our hosts and fellow WA's in Portugal
Ondine with Irelands WA hosts
Standing in front of the Patron Saint of Animals' abode in Assisi
Lisbon has meaningful graffiti
Reuniting with our French host in London to bring in the new year
With my favourite host - Nina from Portugal!
Ondine catching street buskers in Dublin
My host in Tuscany who shared their family of horses and dogs with me
On the hunt to find the largest pizza in Albergo
Carpentry work completed in -17 in the high Tatras mountains of Slovakia
Sharing local cuisine in Budapest with fellow WA's
Successful horse accommodation complete in Tuscany
Working through the different gelato flavours together in Tuglie

Feedback