Dennis & Lena

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/03/2020 - 01/07/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Greetings,
    we are Lena, Dennis and Maila looking for new learning experiences around living a sustainable farm lifestyle. We are a very relaxed and open-minded couple in our mid 30's and we are both on parental leave from Feburary 2020 onwards and our goal is to visit farms in Portugal with our newly bought caravan.
    Back in 2017 we both left our jobs to start traveling the world for almost a year, with extended time spent on 2 different farms (Costa Rica & Galicia, Spain) and short visits to several other farms along our travel route. In Costa Rica we completed a PDC and stayed for an apprenticeship another 4 weeks. In Galicia we took over the role of the main farm manager and took care of all things around the farm for 3 month, together with the help of the farm managers 18yo son.
    When we got back from our travel we finally got married after 10 years as a couple and in June 2019 Maila was born and enriches our life tremendously ever since. We also started a veggie garden in our small backyeard to apply what we learned. But in the past months we got seriously infected by the travel virus again, which lead to updating our Workaway profile with the latest news and getting our caravan set up to drive to Portugal.
    Traveling with a baby is new to us and we do not know how our work commitment to you will look like. One of us will be available 100% and the other as much as possible depending on Maila's needs. In any case, if we have fun together, learn from each other and have a great time together, we won't be checking the "working hours clock". We want to become part of the action on the farm and be as valuable as possible.
    About Lena personally:
    Lena is a very outgoing person. She likes to laugh a lot and there has not been a single person she met yet whom she is not getting along with. Lena studied economics and is employed as technical project lead. Lena is generally very organized and thorough in everything she does. She also loves to do lots of sports activities and pursues it with great motivation. Favorite sports are (Beach-) Volleyball, Skiing and Hiking.
    About Dennis personally:
    Dennis already had his first workaway experience in Spain and Portugal in 2016 and is now looking forward to have another great time volunteering in other places. Dennis started his professional career as IT consultant and is now transitioning into coaching. He loves cooking and being in nature in general and if combined with sports and good company, he is pretty happy. Dennis plays football and skis since he was a child and newer hobbies are diving, bouldering and hiking.
    About Maila:
    Maila is pretty active for her age and is about to discover the world on all fours. Main skill so far is spending instant happiness and lots of smiles to everyone around her. When we will be in Portugal she'll be 8 month old.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    Please check the type of help we marked in the profile. In these areas we do have experiences and skills to varying degrees.
    We both have the ability to adapt and learn fast, so whatever the task we'll find a way to get it done.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Age

    35 & 34

  • Nationality

    German

  • What else ...

    Skype ID: dennis.fricke.85
    Mobile: +49 170 34 22 978

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback