Deborah

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Honduras, Malawi, Nicaragua, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 30/06/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    I am a mature woman at a crossroad in my life and have decided that I finally want to take the plunge and do the travelling combined with volunteering that I have always yearned to do but never been quite brave enough until now. Having said that though, I have travelled quite extensively already: I married on a kibbutz in Israel where I worked as a volunteer for six months, resided in California for a number of years where I raised three sons and have been in my native UK for the last few years. I have been on safari in Namibia and Botswana, backpacked my way around Vietnam, Thailand and Laos and have had holidays in China and Europe.
    I am open to anything from helping set up a business, to general gardening, cleaning, companionship. I also would love to work with underprivileged children to help improve their lives as much as possible. As a native English speaker I think I could help people learn the language although I do not have any formal qualifications in teaching.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am incredibly organised and very energetic. I am not afraid to get my hands dirty and am considered very practical by my friends and family. My passion is gardening and I have created four gardens over the years, one being a low water garden in California. I have been told I am a great cook and I certainly like to cook and try different types of food and have on occasion catered for large numbers of people. I can sew and knit and would enjoy teaching those skills. I also love reading, writing, swimming, hiking, want to dance more and think about the meaning of life which I want to live to the full. I have done a little pottery and am always interested in learning new skills. I like animals and they seem to like me although I do not currently have any pets. But I have house sat for friends and taken care of their dog and two cats and have also taken greyhounds walking as a volunteer.
    I have lots of life experience, being a full time mother when my children were small, which I thoroughly enjoyed and have since mostly worked in administration and in fact, my last name means administrator! I have good computer skills and could help teach beginners in the Office suite. I also have customer service experience and love working with people - in short, I am very sociable and like to find ways to be helpful. I can engage with people of all ages and backgrounds. I have had some project management experience, having had total responsibility for organising a conference in California, an office refurbishment when working as a team administrator and have renovated four houses. I think all these skills are transferable and I am open to new experiences - for instance, I have always wanted to run a B&B but as I am not in a position to do that, I think I could be of great value to someone who is! I have moved around a lot and am very flexible and adaptable and look forward to learning new skills and meeting new people.

  • Languages spoken

    Native English speaker; rudimentary French

  • What else ...

    I am looking in the first instance to go somewhere (anywhere really!) for around four weeks. Ultimately, later in the year, I would like to perhaps stay in one place for a longer period of time.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No shellfish

Photos

Feedback