Dawn

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/05/2019 - 31/01/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I live in the beautiful Lake District, in the north-west corner of England, and spent 2018 on a very busy and life changing sabbatical from my work within a UK feline welfare charity. I returned to work in February 2019.

    As a result I would like to continue being a workaway during some of my annual leave.

    I'm certainly not looking for a free ride, I am looking for personal development opportunities that include the chance to 'give something back' to my fellow human (and non-human) animals. I have worked all of my life and have good work ethics, with loads of enthusiasm and common sense.
    My 52 years in this world have taught me that you don't need much to be happy and to do good. It has also taught me that although I have learned many things so far, the learning never stops.

    I lived as a vegetarian for 33 years until 3 years ago when I began to live as a vegan respecting other people's life choices, a decision I have never regretted and which has helped me to understand people a little better, and animals a lot better.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a Registered Veterinary Nurse (UK) and have been for 10 years.
    I have had 8 years in theoretical and practical animal welfare teaching/training/facilitation of learning (1 year in a UK Vet Nurse College & 7 years in a UK feline charity).

    I have volunteered abroad as a Vet Nurse several times (Ibiza and the Greek island of Tilos) helping with cat TNR (trap, neuter, return) projects, working with volunteers from each island including locals, Germans, Scandinavians and other UK volunteers.

    In my 'youth', I worked in dog kennels, banking, retail, and all aspects of catering and hospitality (Youth Hostel Association & hotels).

    As far as life skills go, I am hard-working, conscientious, generous, a thoughtful communicator, appreciate diversity in humans and other animals, have a good sense of humour, am considerate, optimistic, adaptable, and enjoy living my vegan beliefs but am always respectful of other people's opinions and beliefs.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    52

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I have extensive knowledge of the behaviour of the domestic cat and a fairly good knowledge of the behaviour of the domestic dog. I have been owned by dogs and cats my entire adult life, and currently share responsibility for the care and wellbeing of our awesome rescue cat, Willow, with my wonderful partner.

    I walked the Camino de Santiago in the spring of 2018. 799 kilometers from St Jean Pied de Port in the French Pyrenees. A life-affirming and -changing experience, one of the most beautiful of my life so far. I raised over £900 for Animal Free Research UK while doing this.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan (no animal products)

Photos

With a recently castrated 'feral' cat on Tilos, Greece!

Feedback