David

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/04/2020 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello there. I'm a man from Belfast and I'm very keen on traveling. I am currently living and working in France and I have been doing so since the end of January a secluded farm in St Tugdual, Brittany, and then Burgundy I, therefore, feel that I'm a very safe candidate to host for a few weeks. I am a very strong and healthy individual and in these few months I have been doing painting and decorating and farm work which included chopping wood and piling it; as well as weeding, plowing a field by shovel and planting potatoes. I have also been doing lots of projects around the farm including raking leaves, clearing ditches, wheelbarrow work, making a willow wigwam, demolishing and clearing away a replica iron age 'yurt', burning wood, cooking (for myself) and much much more. I have also been fruit picking and tending tomatoes. I see myself as a happy go lucky kind of man, and I like to socialize as we've been playing scrabble and trivial pursuits, etc. I'm a non-smoker, but I do not mind that other people do so. I love France and last year I cycled from England to the French side of the Camino de Compostella. I then did the Camino and continued cycling down Portugal, over to Africa, back on to Spain, over to Sardegna and Corsica over to Italy up to Croatia and then finished in Zaghreb. So, I like to ride...I have just recently cycled down the Loire.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am very practical. I can paint and decorate it. I can do dry stone boarding. Lots of varying tasks on a farm and especially self-sustainability farms. I'm very good with an Axe. I can also cook (restaurant standard) and I can clean dishes. I'm very fit and strong (I've been chopping wood for two months all winter and Spring outside so I'm not afraid of the cold/wet. I also used to be a boat builder so that it could come in handy. My skills at joinery are good, too. I recently built the floor of a Yurt.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Age

    51

  • What else ...

    I am learning Italian/Spanish. Pre intermediate level...

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback