David

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/08/2020 - 02/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! I would say I have an enthusiastic character with a desire to see a job done well and in good spirit. I've always had a deep love of nature and of the outdoors as I continue to guide my life in the direction of sustainable and positive living. I wish to meet many new others and see who else I share this world with. Whilst traveling and living in a way that serves both myself and the people around me. I'm keen to get stuck into almost any task to both help and learn.
    I'm wanting to travel light with my bike and the bare minimum on my back. Taking my chances whilst my commitments and ties are as low as they'll ever be.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have spent the past year after finishing college (with A and AS levels in Music, Photography, Film and Applied Science) developing personal skills such as photography and music and doing voluntary work at a local Oxfam store in my remote home town in North Yorkshire.
    Working on my own eco-project I have spent many hours sleeping under the stars in a small 'camp' I have built up from natural resources from the land around my parent's house, where I live. Throughout this project I have stretched my abilities over several construction ideas that I have had. Building dry stone walls; laying cobble stone flooring; erecting canopies and hammocks; stabilizing river banks; coppicing trees; mixing and working with cob and more natural approaches to building. After getting the camp to a good level of completion (never complete) I used it to complete a 10 day meditation that I set up for myself. My time there was incredible and mindfulness/meditation and yoga continue to be a large part of my day to day life.
    Working with the land surrounding my house I have spent a lot of time either gardening for my parents or generally managing the land, dealing with landscaping, grass and hedge cutting, fencing and tending to animals.
    I have a lot of time for people, elderly, infants, or disabled.

    Whilst I'm no chef, I have few dishes that I make for myself and my family. However, I'm happy to learn and help in any way I can with preparing and serving food

    I have worked at various workaways now as I made my way through France and during this time I have worked in kitchens, gardens, on building projects, farms and in decorating and refurbishment. Familiarizing myself with many tools and various pieces of equipment along the way.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    United Kingdom

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback