David

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    17/07/2018 - 13/08/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    556

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Writer and future farmer (permaculture) living a simple life in the present. I spent about ten years in Asia, mostly in Thailand. Although perhaps somewhat of an exaggeration, I like to characterize that journey as the transition from a degenerate gambler to a meditating farmer. I 2010, I left behind a family business I started, a bed and breakfast, to continue my travels. In it, I learned to stop seeking outward and to look inward. My spiritual journey continues.
    I'm easygoing and try to live in the present. As of July 2020--the year of Covid-- I am back in the USA studying software engineering. I've been working on a website to help authors publish their books--I've written and published three so far.
    I'm honest--although I don't always know what that means. I try to let the right words manifest by getting out of my own way. Honesty, in this sense, is being open to this moment and whatever words need to flow.
    I spent the last 40 days fasting. It wasn't a complete water fast, but limited to one small meal a day. It was very insightful to see what the body did--my energy was low for the first week, but normal after that-- and what it feels like to (attempt to) take the entertainment out of eating.
    I feel like I'm on my way to settling down and getting a small plot of land somewhere temperate and making my own simple homestead. I'm happy to assist with any project. Feel free to ask me anything.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Permaculture
    Meditation
    Writing

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent

  • Age

    37

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback