Daniel & Melodie

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2018 - 01/01/2022

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    209

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Our status

    Travelling


    We're currently in Spain helping to harvest almonds, looking for placements in southern Spain. We enjoy adventure, hiking and learning new skills!

  • Description

    *COVID Update- Oct 2020 - We are currently in Spain and looking for Workaways that allow us to travel safely. We will ensure we travel with no symptoms in order to protect hosts, Workawayers and ourselves*

    Hello Workaway we are Daniel and Melodie!
    We have been together for over 6 years now, both of us born in the UK and now currently planning another adventure which will take us around the world again.

    We started our first travelling adventure Interrailing around Europe in 2016, visiting 11 countries in one month to get a taste for travelling and since then we've been hooked on travel.

    A year later we set out on a much longer trip for 18 months, quitting our jobs and travelling through India and South East Asia visiting Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia and Hong Kong before settling in Australia on a Working Holiday Visa where we had our first Workaway experience in New South Wales.

    We are keen to be a part of the Workaway community and help others whilst learning new experiences, the idea of Workaway stood out to us from the very start.

    Daniel is a graduate in Information and Communications and managed a CCTV Control Room before his most recent job as a Learning Trainer. Daniel is a keen runner and recently completed a cycle trip of the UK (Lands End to John O'Groats!). Daniel has a passion for all things technology related.

    Melodie is studying for a degree in Health and Social and has an education background of Travel and Tourism with over 5 years experience in the food industry as a Shift Manager. She is a music and animal lover with fantastic leadership and people skills, Melodie has a passion for learning new ideas and always strives to excel herself - she completed a 2000+ mile cycle tour from Hamburg, Germany to Bolton, UK!

    We are both hard working people, eager to help out through the Workaway project and not afraid to get our hands dirty. We are a dedicated, reliable and trustworthy couple.

    We hope that our Workaway experience will be memorable to all involved :-)

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Together we have previous Workaway experiences on a Farmstay and a corporate retreat which included animal care (incl. cleaning and feeding pigs, goats, horses, cattle, chickens and rabbits), general ground and garden maintenance (weeding, hedging trimming etc) as well as domestic skills including cleaning and cooking.

    We both love animals, spending most of our lives around pets - Melodie has owned her own cat (Charlie) since the age of 10!

    We both have obtained a recent TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) qualification which we hope to gain experience with on a placement we have in a school in Thailand (COVID-permitting).

    We are both highly motivated, inquisitive and willing to learn any new skills presented to us.

    Daniel has a BSc degree in Information and Communications which has taught him many valuable computer and technology related skills including maintenance, web design, project management and networking.

    Melodie is currently studying via distance learning for a BA in Health and Social Care and is hoping to gain experience while learning with Workaway! Melodie has excellent organisational skills along with a vast knowledge of food safety and hygiene.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    28 & 25

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    In light of COVID we are looking for more longer term travel at a slower pace. We hope to be enriched by the Workaway scheme and hope that our skills prove useful to a host willing to give us an opportunity.

    We are extremely keen to help others and love the idea of the Workaway programme.

    We are interested in fair work for fair reward and do not wish to take advantage of hosts or be exploited.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope!

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope - open to try new foods all the time!

Photos

Feedback