DDanderson

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Bali, Indonesia - from Nov 2022 until Jan 2023
    View all
  • Description

    Aloha! I spent 2019 backpacking abroad, volunteering with great hosts in Italy, Albania and Greece working part-time in exchange for room and board. I'm 39, divorced, mom of incredible and independent 21 year old son. I'm excited to immerse myself into other cultures and grow as a person. I am a volunteer/activist in Washington state developing my own nonprofit wellness center so I am learning about permaculture farming, protecting the environment, off-grid living/culinary, meditation/yoga and living more sustainably. My travel experience is to meet like-minded farms internationally, give volunteer hours in exchange for room/board and cultural exchange and also offer consulting. Workaway is a perfect option for me because I want to experience life with the locals, work, study, socialize, and experience true life in the country for my short stays.

    First and foremost, I'm a parent. My son is 21 years old now and im very proud of the person that he is. He's studying communications and film and is a very talented artist (dance, film, music). I also have a disciplined 7 yo lab/pit ESA dog. As for me, I studied early childhood education for a year in college before changing to business management and getting my degree. I was a teacher's assistant in a state-lab preschool for a year, I was a trained foster parent, I tutored kids in math/english, and have been a respite worker the last 3 years to a mildly handicapped boy. I also have experience with incarcerated youth and vulnerable adults. Although my profession is no longer working with children, it was always a passion and integral part of my life to teach and support people. My chosen profession is business administration and running my nonprofit. I have a degree in management, pursuing business operations analysis in education management. Although I'm more of a business professional, im tired of living in the city and I am now interested in farming and intentional, egalitarian communities, so I am interested in working with others who can teach me about farming, husbandry, carpentry/construction, etc. and in return I can apply my business/customer service/organizational skills. I'm working towards land ownership to develop my own eco farm stay, nonprofit wellness center and welcome all experience and business partnerships focused on spiritual health and well being.

    Personally, I love music of all genres, movies, art, museums, traveling, cuisine, sightseeing, hiking, yoga/meditation, reading, and relaxing. My hobby is self mastering. I am always researching ways to improve myself: body, mind, and spirit. I'm not religious but I believe in God. However I am open-minded and respect all people. I believe that everything in life is about balance.

    HISTORY:
    March '19: Venice and Lazise, Italy - renovations/cooking
    April '19: Cascina, Italy - winemaking
    May '19: Frasso Telesino, Italy - housekeeping/carpentry
    June '19: Tirana, Albania - cooking/housekeeping
    July '19: Sarande, Albania - cooking/housekeeping
    Aug '19: Papingo, Greece - housekeeping
    Oct '19: Salkum, WA, USA - food forestry/bee preservation

    WISH LIST 2020:
    USA: Anywhere
    South America: Tulum, MX, Brazil and Domenic
    Africa: Sierra Leone, Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Ethiopia, India
    Bali, Indonesia

    If you live on farmland and looking for someone to help with permaculture, food forestry, farming, gardening, building, renovating, etc...please reach out to me. I am very interested in learning how to "live off grid" (with internet) and welcome this experience. Thanks!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Blogging
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Being an elderly companion
  • More details about your skills

    I'm a business owner to a nonprofit wellness center in Washington, experienced in administrative work, customer service and childcare (I prefer no childcare/babysitting atm). I type 74 wpm, computer proficient, am artistic and willing to learn anything new to help. Im domestic, a fantastic cook, very clean and good housekeeper. I'm great with children and animals. I'm pretty strong and would like to learn to build things and farm.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I'd like to brush up and improve my Spanish and Italian

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    40

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I smoke/drink occassionally but am drug free, no criminal record, never been a party-goer, always pretty quiet and reserved. I have my CPR/First Aid cert, food handlers permit, facilitator cert, and International Driving Permit.
    Something about me: I am a very reserved and observant person...a classic INTJ personality, Capricorn spiritual woman. We're a rare breed!! This means im very quiet and analytical but it must not be construed as a negative. I'm naturally just a quiet person until im comfortable to let my hair down. As long as we communicate respectfully, we will be just fine! 😊👍
    I am eager and flexible doing different work. But i must have time to work on my laptop and communicate with my clients/family from the states.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat Whole Food, Plant-Based foods which is similar to veganism. This means that I avoid dairy, meat, poultry, fish, starches, GMOs and hybrid foods.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback