David

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, France, Iceland, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/01/2015 - 21/01/2017

  • Badges


  • Description

    Hello and welcome to my profile. Thank you for taking a moment to look at profile and I look forward to hearing from you.
    My name is David Anderson and I’m a 28 year old experienced traveler and workawayer from Scotland.
    I would say that I am a hard working, independent and conscientious person and I am easy to get along with and I enjoy meeting new people and sharing new experiences. I really like experiencing a different culture to the one I know and I would say that I am an outgoing and adventurous person with a love of the outdoors, nature and travelling.
    In 2015, I traveled for seven months and I participated in five workaways in different countries across Europe. I absolutely love the concept of workaway and I experienced a lot of amazing things on my travels and through my workaway experiences.
    Through my workaway experiences and through jobs I have had in the past in Scotland I have gained a lot of experience in a number of different fields.
    My first workaway was in Finnish Lapland, Kaamanen, where I lived for a month and worked there at a restaurant/bar and BnB style accommodation. Then I volunteered on a organic farm/self sustaining community in Belgium for one month followed by a BnB in the east of Switzerland and then another BnB in the Italian dolomites.
    In 2016 I worked at a husky kennel in northern Norway from Aug16 to Dec16 and am now very experienced with huskies.

    2018*️ i worked as a husky guide at a large kennel in kakslauttanen Finland for a few months, preparing teams of dogs for sledding, picking up customers from their hotels, dressing the customers, making soup, going on long and short husky tours and evening aurora tours driving a ski doo,

    In previous years I worked with Hostelling Scotland as a hostel assistant and worked in different hostels throughout Scotland and have a lot of experience in this field and I am also interested in gaining experience in and getting involved in different fields such as farming, wood work and forestry and language teaching and practise.
    I am also a photographer and would like to make a career out of my photography one day and I would be happy to contribute photography or video for your business should this be something you are interested in. I have provided photography/video for several workaways that I have participated in the past. (if you want check out some of my photography follow this link )
    instagram.com/goodwinter

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can help with many things:

    From my time working in several hostels in Scotland I have vast experience of living and working in a Hostel/BnB environment. Tasks such as general housework, cleaning, preparing breakfast, reception, bookings, helping with guests and providing information - are all familiar to me.

    I could help with language practise (English) - this is also something I am very interested in gaining some experience in and is a field I would like to gain more in.

    I am familiar with computers/web/email etc should this be something you need me to work with.

    I can also drive so I could run errands for your should it be required and you want me to use your vehicle.

    After my time volunteering in Finland I worked a lot with wood - and its something I really enjoyed also. Either chopping wood with an axe or using a splitting machine to make firewood, then delivering it, I enjoyed it all. I would like to work with wood more, and learn more about it. I would love to build with wood and learn how to carve and whittle. In Belgium I also did a lot of work with wood by constructing fences and a shelter for a horse and by also cutting wood by axe. When I was in the Dolomites I helped in a forest preparing the winter wood chip supply that was used to heat my hosts property.

    Also, if you want photographs or video either for personal use or for your business, or just some pictures to add to your workaway page, I would be able to get involved with that also. I have done this on every previous workaway I have participated in. I provided photography for my BnB in Switzerland then helped make a promotional video for another BnB in Italy.

    *As of 2016 I am experienced dog musher after my 4 month stint with huskies in northern Norway. I helped with the training and running of the dogs throughout Sep/Oct/Nov 2016 then eventually started dog sledding in Nov/Dec 2016. I am also very familiar with the usual day jobs around the kennel such as feeding and cleaning (and the poop shovelling) and the usual kennel maintenance required. I completed all the training to become a winter guide to take guests on tours with the huskies at the kennel I was at and would have been experienced in this field, but I left the kennel in in December due to personal reasons regarding my family and never did a tour with guests, despite completing weeks of training for this task. So I believe I could be capable of taking guest on tours after training and getting comfortable with the dogs.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    I really like travelling, discovering new places and meeting new people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      a little asthmatic.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I think I am lactose intolerant, I dont like cheese and cream

Photos

me and the Aurora in Abisko Sweden. Literally a dream come true.
splitting wood in Finland
Getting a husky tour in Finland. 2015
working at 'Boskanter' in Belgium
digging out holes for the steel beams for the horse shelter
helping to build a horse shelter at the 'Boskanter' self sustaining community in Belgium
helping out at a friends farm, South of France
Skogafoss, my favourite waterfall, Iceland
friends in Abisko Sweden
Tromso, Norway, with my Icelandic courchsurf host Stefan
gornergrat hike, Switzerland
cycle touring in Scotland
taking a few dogs on a short training route Finnmark Norway 16
Skiing in Scotland

Feedback