Cynthia & Dan

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    Travelling

    Our next destination:

    France
    View all
  • Description

    I am a successful massage and myofascial release therapist in private practice for 21 years. I have been also teaching yoga for 16 years. Prior to that I worked as a dance therapist for mentally ill adults. I am an energetic and alive 64 year old who after hosting workaways for 6 + years with my husband, have decided it is our turn. My husband is a social worker/family life consultant and works sometimes for US military around the world, though is mostly retired.
    We have many skills, from gardening to cooking, from sewing to tending horses, dogs, and cats and children. I am a great vegetarian/vegan cook, yoga teacher, massage therapist and aromatherapy student. Dan is great at cooking meat and fixing things and listening! As a successful business owner, I have other skills as well such as people skills, computer skills and can clean a bathroom! I am eager to live in a region long enough to get to know a bit about it, it's people and to develop new friends. I am organized and efficient and though I am vegetarian, leaning towards veganism, and gluten free in America, I am willing and able to cook almost anything, and am a very good baker. I try to be as flexible as my conscience allows, I love to help people and love to help them find new ways of being in their bodies, cooking, eating and staying flexible! Dan loves to BBQ meat and veggies and is a varied handyman, painter, furniture refinisher and a great listener!
    My language skills are beginning French and rusty but medium level Spanish. I would also love to help you with your English. Dan speaks some German and English of course.
    We would be happy to learn from you as well and see where that takes us all!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Cooking and baking, sewing, gardening, mending, animal care, child care, teaching yoga, massage, aromatherapy, fitness, English

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    64 & 79

  • Nationality

    American citizen

  • What else ...

    Dans has some health issues which make being on his feet for long stretches (ie, more than 2 hours at a time), difficult. We love to bike and walk and we are super independent and self starters. We love getting to know people and love the exchange that workaway is. We have made lifelong friends as hosts in California and we are always eager to try to help others at their homes!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      American wheat - Cynthia

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian for Cynthia, Dan will eat anything!

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback