Craig

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Easy going French/American travelling down through South America to learn Spanish and enjoy the natural beauty! Hitting the three month mark and more than ready to volunteer along the way.

    Background in international development and human rights - work experience as a multimedia journalist covering environmental issues, migration, and community organisations.

    I've also worked in bars, as a human rights consultant, with artists on a gigantic sculpture, and as a volunteer in refugee camps in France and West Africa.

    Free time is spent hiking, playing music, gardening, taking pictures and reading. I love stories and hearing about the world around me - over cards, on long bus rides, or while swinging in a hammock.

    Enjoying the travelling life and looking to help out where I can!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    1.5 years working as a multimedia journalist for the European Commission covering international development, environmental issues, humanitarian affairs and human rights. Focus on both policy level and grassroots projects. Article coordination, conducting interviews, videography and post-production (video, photo, and audio editing / Adobe Suite).

    I am travelling with my camera and audio recording equipment so am able to produce promotional or documentary-style overviews of projects.

    Previous two years experience as a human rights and societal development risk analysis consultant. In-depth research into country and regional affairs and production of reports for leading companies and International Non-Governmental Organisations. Strong on information gathering, analysis, and synthesis. Database management and Microsoft Suite (Excel, Word, PowerPoint).

    Further work experience in refugee camps in France and West Africa. Responsibilities included fact-finding, community management, logistics and coordination.

    Three years work experience in a bar as barman and service manager in charge of a staff of 11 people.

    I am flexible, a quick learner, and down for just about anything.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, and a bit of Spanish

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    I like to cook, a lot!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback