Michael

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, New Zealand, South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/08/2018 - 30/04/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    After I finished school I started an apprenticeship in a bank because I didn´t really know what to do. I worked there until I was 25. In 2011 a trip to South Africa changed my life. Slowly but steadily. I am coming from a small village and grew up on a farm. In Africa I met travellers from all over the world for the first time. And I also recognized that the world has to offer so much more than working for a company, paying rent and saving money for the things you wanna do in the future. I recognized I can do them right now. Since then I studied in South Africa, I worked on a farm in Norway, travelled to different countries in Europe and went back to South Africa to help in some social projects and to work in a Hostel. After that I spent a year in New Zealand - mostly managing a Fruit Selling business which was included in a community style Hostel. I also worked two months as a supervisor for Scottfresh, picking Lettuce and Broccoli.
    Workaway is such a good option to get know the country and the people - I really appreciate it. However, I am over 30 now and I also experienced to meet very strict rules, resulting out of hosting a lot of 18 to 20 year old people. Every host has the right to make their own rules and to decide how it is gonna work out at their place. But I just wanted to say - I am over 30, grown up, responsible and conscious about my environment and I prefer to be at places where I am treated like that...

    A bit more about my person and what I love:
    - Football (Soccer ;))
    - Playing chess
    - Yoga
    - Meditation
    - Vegetarian Food
    - All kind of sports
    - Running and hiking
    - Mate (I will always have some Mate to share in the morning ;))
    - Learning new things (especially when it comes to building and construction work)
    - Movies and going to Cinemas around
    - Music and jamming (I play a bit Ukulele but prefer to drum when it comes to jamming)

    Greetz and Love...
    Micha

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    I grew up on a farm. I like to work outside and phisically hard work is no problem for me. Normally I learn things pretty quickly and I am always interested to do things I haven´t done before, espacially when it comes to building or construction work. Or carpenting. Also I have some experience behind the bar. I like to interact with people and to manage things. l also have a football coaching license - it won´t help me that much probably ;) but maybe it´s nice to know. I played competitive for a long period in my life.
    I worked in other fields, too. On farms or in the production for Mercedes Benz.

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, Learning Spanish

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Germany

  • What else ...

    I love to talk and meet new people. I am always interested in peoples stories and their way of living. It always widens my horizon to see that people make things possible which have been marked in my mind as hard to accomplish.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback