Charlie

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile is connected to:

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Charlie, I am 28 years old and am from Charleston, South Carolina, US. I graduated from College of Charleston in 2014 with a degree in Women's and Gender Studies. Somewhere along the line I decided that I needed to help people in some form or fashion. Working as a cook throughout school was a nice way to 'help' people by giving them delicious food to eat and enjoy. Feeling a little stuck after graduation, I continued to cook. Soon a strong yearn to work outside developed- probably from being cooped in the kitchen for fifty something hours a week- and I quit my job to work at a local county park on the grounds crew.
    Working outside was a definite plus and a huge benefit for me, but I definitely wasn't helping any one by cutting the grass and trimming the hedges. I experimented with woofing in Arizona for a few weeks. I decided this was something that could not only build me as a human and create amazing bonds with other people as well as their cultures, but really make me feel like I was doing something useful for humankind and our sweet mother Earth. After finding out about workaway through a good friend, I had hope that there was a way to make a difference in the world while enjoying its beauty!
    I am a pretty easy going, simple person who enjoys working with others and who can definitely work alone as well. Teamwork makes the dream work!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Working in kitchens in the past I've become pretty good at cleaning, cooking,and working together, not just side by side! I really enjoy hanging out with children, and I'm almost sure they enjoy hanging out with me! I have experience tractor driving, and operating assorted large machinery. I can drive a car! I have customer service experience, and really enjoy meeting and chatting with people. Through the last year of workaway I have built confidence in the garden- weeding, planting, trimming. I like to learn new things and am always looking to expand my skill set!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    31

  • What else ...

    I am a fair learner, who takes a whole lot of pride in the work that must be done in order to make the vision complete! I am open to learning and doing everything, especially hands on tasks.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Feedback