Claire

  • Ireland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    I love hiking, cooking, reading, roadtrips, talking about animal rights, playing the piano and listening to live music.

  • Description

    Hi! I'm Claire; a teacher from Ireland. I currently live in Málaga, Spain, but very soon I will be leaving as I've quit my job as a mathematics teacher in an international school....or should I say career. I am looking for a big change. I'm going to buy and do up a van to live in and head off travelling around Europe. I am looking forward to meeting people, discovering new cultures, enjoying the outdoors and continuing to improve my Spanish while in Spain. I am a vegan and have a big interest in eco-friendly, sustainable living. I love to cook! I'm an open minded, easy going person with a casual interest in yoga and keeping fit. I enjoy hiking, cycling, kayaking, surfing, camping. I am my happiest when outdoors and in nature.
    Last summer I had some experiences with workaway at a yoga retreat location and a vegan Bed and Breakfast both in Andalucía. I want to enjoy, learn and connect more with nature. Although I really enjoy teaching and working with young people, I find I am less passionate about my subject and would much rather talk to my students about sustainability, the planet, eco-systems, animals, nature and human well-being. Maybe I can find a way to do this through experiences with workaway and take on a new path.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Performing arts
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Events & social
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have a background of general farm work as I grew up on a farm. Growing up in the countryside means you naturally are exposed to lots of housework and generally being useful about the house with regard to cooking, cleaning and general up-keep. (Yes, that does sound like I grew up in the 1950's)
    As a traveller in the past, I worked on vegetable farms in Australia; planting and cutting/picking/packing vegetables.
    I was a teacher in British secondary schools; teaching mathematics through English. I am keen to learn Spanish, so I have intercambios set up with people here to exchange English for Spanish.
    I have an interest in cooking vegan food and exploring with different cultural cuisines.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    38

  • What else ...

    I am a former piano player who has started to re-learn as I have forgotten so much. I really enjoy music; classical, folk, dance, world music....the list goes on. I love live performances - there is nothing more enjoyable than a live orchestral performance.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback