Cindy

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Good Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! I'm a 50-something adventurous woman from Colorado excited to continue my Workaway experience. Originally from Chicago, I spent 20 years living at altitude in the mountains of Evergreen CO raising my kids and now live in Denver. Now that my four kids are grown, I'm ready to discover more about the world and about myself. I have a serious travel bug! I've traveled quite a bit - Ireland, England, Scotland, Italy, Greece, backpacked through Thailand with my two daughters, traveled to Mexico, the Virgin Islands, and all across the USA.
    In Fall 2016, I spent 3 months traveling through Europe, hiking the Amalfi Coast and backpacking the Kerry Way, a 130-mile through-hike in Ireland, then I did a workaway on a Greek island doing trail maintenance, and explored Morocco, Portugal and Spain as a solo traveler - my first time traveling alone.
    In 2018 I spent 4 months loving the food, the people, the culture and the amazing variety of things to do in Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Nepal, Bali, Singapore and Malaysia,. Then in August and September of 2018, I was a caretaker at a 15th-century Tuscan villa - YES! the one here on Workaway!! - watering flowers, caring for the plants and the cat, cleaning up the grounds and assisting with guests and at events such as weddings and family gatherings at the bed and breakfast on the grounds. When that glorious stint ended, I traveled the coast of Croatia, visited Montenegro, Turkey and visited Istanbul and Cappadocia for a few weeks, traveled through Madagascar for 3 weeks with a group of French paraglider pilots, and spent December snorkeling and hiking volcanoes on the island of La Reunion off the coast of Madagascar. I did a Workaway at an orphanage in Nepal in 2018 for two weeks and loved every minute of it - it was amazing!
    My next adventure was to hike the Portuguese Camino de Santiago for two weeks in May and then explore the Canary Islands, Ibiza, and the Andalucia region of Spain as well as the Algarve and Alentejo in Portugal for a month or so. Just returned from Australia and New Zealand, and did a workaway at a vineyard in Wanaka!

    I like traveling "low to the ground" - no fancy hotels or 5-star restaurants for me! I've met some of my best friends while staying at hostels. I enjoy hiking, kayaking, rafting, paragliding, snorkeling, camping, skiing, snowshoeing, reading, planning trips, drinking coffee and red wine.
    Of course I have a travel blog - here's the link to my writeup about caretaking at the villa - http://drd4-7rpostsfromaflashpacker.com/2018/08/30/villa-di-corliano-livin-the-villa-loca/
    I'm an accomplished home renovator and have done a bunch of "fix and flips", owned/operated and managed a 12 apartment property and a 4 unit Victorian building (currently with 4 Airbnb units), and don't mind cleaning, waiting tables or cooking!
    I have spent the past 7 years as a software and sales trainer of adults, teaching various computer programs, social media use, customer service and sales techniques within the apartment industry, traveling all across the USA. However, I quit my job in December of 2017 and have been traveling ever since!
    I'm open-minded and ready to help in whatever capacity needed. I'm a hard worker, cheerful, intuitive, upbeat, in great health and enthusiastic-- and willing to give 100%.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    teaching (children and adults), computers, software, social media, renovation, decorating, painting, cleaning, hosting, serving food, hospitality, planning, emailing, organizing, group leader, leading hikes, adept at Airbnb and HomeAway platforms, SuperSeller on eBay.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    60

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Whatever I don't know how to do, I'm willing to learn. I don't need much supervision - I'm pretty good at figuring things out and have a great work ethic. I know how to clean - "mom clean", not college student version of clean! I can stay busy and go above and beyond. I've got a good sense of humor and lots of life experiences!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      nope

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback