Cindy

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Netherlands

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/10/2019 - 14/11/2019

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi there, I moved to The Netherlands in 2016 because I've always wanted to live in Europe.

    I grew up in South Africa am an EU citizen through my family being Italian.
    English is my home language & I understand Dutch quite well but don't speak it that well.

    I've recently ended my career as an assistant accountant to start a business offering adventure / activity group travel for women. Doing Workaways has been great to be busy and have some variety of duties during the day & then a few hours to focus on my business.

    Professionally I'm a bookkeeper & event organiser & have been doing this for about 8 years. I've helped at my parent's lodge in Mozambique over many busy seasons, as well as at a small hotel in Johannesburg & my first Workaway - in The Netherlands at a BnB.

    I really love hospitality work, helping with guests, planning activities for them & doing restaurant & kitchen duties. I find housekeeping relaxing for the quiet & focus.

    I also enjoy manual work like renovating, gardening & general DIY, my experience coming from renovating homes we've lived in & other Workaway trips. I prefer to work alone & independently, or atleast not in too big a group of other Workawayers so we can each be responsible for our own standards & contributions.

    I’m an animal lover, especially dogs, horses & most farm animals. I always feel comfortable & quite at peace when I'm in their company.

    In exchange from a host, I'd love to learn about their country, their customs & culture, & to be a part of the family.

    I believe in hard work & having a sense of humour & above all else being a good human being & helping other people feel the same way.

    Thanks for reading my profile.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Renovations: Painting, gardening, planting vegetable gardens, restoring & repairing furniture.

    Guest services: Reception, reservations, helping with local tours & sight seeing,

    Tourism: Guiding walking, horse or cycle tours.

  • Languages spoken

    English (native), creative Dutch!

  • Age

    42

  • Nationality

    Italian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback