Christian

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Italy, New Zealand, Peru, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/11/2017 - 30/07/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    766

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I've spent a long time in the customer service industry and would love to dig my hand into some dirt. A love of cooking, and a general love of food, motivates both a desire to travel as well as a desire to be involved in agricultural work. I believe what we eat - and more precisely, what goes into what we eat - is the root of good health, and would like one day to utilize abandoned factories/mills as renewable-energy sourced hydroponic gardens to localize food production and increase the availability of well-sourced, healthy produce for low-income regions/food deserts.

    Loads of energy, easy to train and educate, more than happy to ask questions to make sure I know the ins and outs of my responsibilities. Co-workers and employers have known me to have an exceptional work ethic, and I am equally suited to working as part of a team as I am working by myself - self-motivated but also being a person who is happy to lessen the burden of others. I seek the opportunity to gain 'on the ground' experience in organic agricultural practices (permaculture especially). A holistic thinker and major animal lover with an open-minded approach to the world.

    My free time is spent outdoors (hiking, kayaking, rafting), reading (Conrad and Bulgakov being two of my favorite authors) or writing, and when I have the space to do so, gardening. Good herbs make great food! Would love to have the opportunity to develop/cultivate some language skills! Great with dogs too.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    Gardening, pickling, fruit preserving/jelly and jam making, cooking, meal-planning, composting.
    Great communicating skills and coordinating capacities. Quick learner. Multi-tasking and time management.
    Wood chopping/splitting, snow shoveling, general yard work.
    Dog training/handling.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I am the sort of person who upon moving to a new place visits numerous food markets with a set-list of items I commonly purchase and will compare them over the course of weeks regarding price, whether they are locally and organically sourced, and what condition they tend to be in (for produce especially), so that by the end of the project I know where to go for what I need. I love and respect food to that degree. My most recent data-dive (in Ketchikan, Alaska) was made available to my fellow seasonal employees here by way of a local magazine who thought it was a clever way for folks to eat well and save money.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Harvesting wild beach asparagus.
Gathering huckleberries for jams and pancakes.

Feedback